Evil webmasters

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by kylos, Dec 10, 2002.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #1
    If there's one thing I hate more than anything else, it's websites that restrict viewing to certain browsers.

    I'm running Omniweb and I don't want Netscape 7.0. Anybody know what string Netscape id's itself to websites with? Omni doesn't yet have the capability to id itself as 7.0. I've tried several different things in the other field in Omni's compatibility pref pane, but haven't found the right one yet. Anybody else know? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    #2
    What about chimera?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    #3
    Which Websites are those?

    Can you give an example of a website that "restricts" viewing?

    :cool:
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #4
    There's not many, but this is the latest one I've found.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #5
    And what about Chimera? If it's not Netscape 7.0, it won't work (or some other webmasters browser of choice).
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Moxiemike

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    I think we should stop recommending chimera until its full featured and a 1.0 release.

    I mean, seriously, it's fast... sure... but it doesn't do half the stuff Netscape or Mozilla do. And to a lot of newbies, that's important.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    #7
    RedWings Fan.... He clicks... he doesn't score?

    Interesting... someone will have some definite things to say about this... my advice in the interim is cheer for another team ;) (BE SURE: to flame the head office of the Wings, demanding satisfaction, or you, and your twenty friends who own season tickets will boycott the team - tripping someone on a breakaway gets a penalty shot... your breakaway to the Wings .NET was tripped up by a webmaster - You should demand that the Webmaster spend some time in the Penalty box fixing the problem).

    Ensuring webpages work for everyone is, afterall, the Webmaster's job.

    :cool:
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #8
    Cheer for another team?? I tried the standard webmaster@detroitredwings.com since now I can't even get contact info, but that didn't work.

    I've only gotten as far as Omniweb in my quest for the best browser 'cuz my ten gigs on my ibook are scarce and I try to keep only what I really like. Omniweb looks the best and although it has problems with java and such, it is getting better. I may try chimera sometime, but that won't help with sites that only allow certain browsers. Right now I need Netscape 7.0's id string so I can get Omniweb to id itself as Netscape.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #9
    Fire Wall

    You could try blocking your browser ID with a Firewall


    They often do it for a reason... its simpler to just optimize your site for one browser and just make every one use it. I use several... just in case. Some sites have very particular functions that require it.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    seattle, wa
    #10
    the site works with opera. maybe you should use opera instead of something else :)
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #11

    It works with Phoenix (a Mozilla derivative, Chimera is based off if it too)

    Oh and don't let the v0.6 version number fool you, the only things that need to be done to it is a bit more features and more stability.

    Other than that it's a wonderful browser. (speedy too)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #12
    Right now I'm not browsing for browsers. If any of you can determine how phoenix and chimera id themselves to a website so that it thinks they are netscape, I would be thrilled. Right now I just want to set Omniweb to work with netscape 7 only sites.
     
  13. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #13
    That's because they are Netscape. Or at least different variations of the same code.

    Netscape is based off of the Gecko engine which Mozilla, Chimera and Phoenix are also based on, that's why sites think they are Netscape is because they pretty much are.

    Whnever I install plugins for Phoenix on my PC, it never detects a browser named Phoenix, it detects a browser called Netscape 6.

    I don't know how to make Omniweb pose as Netscape since I've never used it, sorry.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #14
    Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-US; rv:0.9.4.1) Gecko/20020508 Netscape6/6.2.3

    This is Omniweb's method of identifying itself as Netscape 6.2. I need to change this string so that it reflects the differences in netscape. Since Phoenix and chimera work, I assume the problem is with the mozilla version or the gecko engine number. Anybody know the latest numbers?

    Sorry I didn't explain the id string better; I thought there would be several other Omniweb users out there.
     

Share This Page