Excel Error After SP1

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diomedes, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Diomedes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    I applied SP1 to Office 2004 yesterday, and every time I exit Excel now, I get this error: “Compile Error in Hidden Module: AutoExec”.

    Is anyone else experiencing this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Vanilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    YEEESSSS!!! the exact same error. I have used one of my two free support email messages to microsoft asking for clarification and hopefully a solution. I'll let you know what response I get.

    Vanilla
     
  3. Dr. Dastardly macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #3
    Oh GOD M$ sucks. They infected my beautiful Mac. :(
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    I updated about 40 macs in a lab and my 2 personal ones without a hitch. Seems odd.
     
  5. ZaniCWB macrumors member

    ZaniCWB

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    Yeah, my PowerBook 1.33 with 10.3.5 keeps running smooth after the Office SP1 update, and Excel, Word and PowerPoint are are just fine.
     
  6. ZaniCWB macrumors member

    ZaniCWB

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    Found it!

    Actually there is a solution. Check this link! :cool:
     
  7. Diomedes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    Reinstalling didn't work for me

    Here is the "workaround" one of the Excel MVP's posted on the microsoft.public.mac.office.excel newsgroup:

    1. In the Finder, do a "Find" for "PDFMaker". You will probably discover
    > These annoying files in three Startup folders (Word, Excel, PowerPoint),
    > namely PDFMaker.dot, PDFMaker.xla and PDFMaker.ppa Trash the files.
    >
    > 2. In place of each of them, create a new blank *folder* with the names,
    > respectively, of PDFMaker.dot, PDFMaker.xla and PDFMaker.ppa.
    >
    > 3. When you open Acrobat you may be told there is a discrepancy and asked
    > whether you want it repaired. Click "Don't ask me again" and "No" to the
    > repair question.
    >
    > The result is that when you open Acrobat, it will "see" that you already
    > have a PDFMaker.dot or .xla in folder form and will not create another nor
    > overwrite what's there (since a file can't overwrite a folder).

    This DOES work, although you lose the PDFMaker toolbar functionality.
     
  8. Vanilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #8
    Hi
    So I just received the following from Microsoft support:

    "I understand that you get the following message:

    "Compile error in hidden module: Autoexec" when quitting Excel 2004. This issue occurs after you installing Office 2004 SP1. If I have misunderstood, please let me know.

    Since we released Office 2004 SP1, we have received many same issues. This is an incompatibility between SP1 and Adobe Acrobat v 6.0 (same to 6.02).

    Our develop team is working on this issue.

    Currently, the workaround is: taking off PDFmaker.xla from Microsoft Office 2004:Office:StartUP:Excel folder.

    Let me know if it helps. If you encounter any difficulties or have any concerns, feel free to let me know.

    I am sorry for the inconvenience that our products have caused you. If I have any more information, I will inform you as soon as possible."

    Which kind of agrees with the Diomedes comments, bar the instruction to recreate blank folders. Anyway, I removed the offending file as instructed and the error message has gone.

    cheers
    Vanilla
     
  9. raydemel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    #9
    Is This A Problem

    Is this message a problem or can it be ignored and does excel work properly?

    Thank you
     
  10. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #10
    It can be ignored. I've noticed the problem, but it has had absolutely no effect on anything, other than that I have an extra button to click.
     
  11. kittykatne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #11
    thank you

    thanks for posting the fix for this very annoying error. all along I've thought it was something that was just an error on my machine. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one having issues - and that there's an easy fix.
     

Share This Page