Excel work

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by boneca, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. boneca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    I'm doing allot of Excel stuff at home mostly. Now I ordered iMac Mini and when it comes it will have some sort of software in it. Its gonna be AppleWorks 6 right? Is this is a full MS Excel compatible software? or this is something else? is it full version? Anyway I guess my question is, do I have to go out and by MS Office for Apple to use Excel or what comes with will be enough?

    TAIA
     
  2. volfreak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #2
    You will want Office 2004 for the Mac

    While AppleWorks can read some Excel files, if you are doing some real specific Excel stuff, you'll want the real thing. Office2004 is one of the better releases of Office for the Mac in a while. If you're a student, get the Edu discount and it's really pretty inexpensive.

    But if you're used to Excel and are doing some demanding things, the only way to get that compatibility is to use Excel.

    I hope this helps.

    Cheers,
    Jay :cool:
     
  3. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #3
    If you're only doing sums of columns/rows etc, then you'll be OK

    If you use formulas or pivot tables to any degree, you'll need Mac Office
     
  4. boneca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    thx guys for answers. I use Excel allot but I don't do much of demanding things such as formulas, pivot tables etc. So I guess this should do for me.
    No I won't be able to use edu. discount as I'm not student anymore and not teacher ether.
    What I don't understand exactly is:
    is this means that I'm not going to be able to import Excel files from Office 2003 SP2 to AppleWorks? or this is only applies to "complex" excel files that had formulas in it?

    TAIA
     
  5. volfreak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #5
    What I meant.... ;-)

    Sorry for not being concise. I'm not sure what translators AW has and so the application may not read all Excel files as the file format has changed over the years. But what I was mainly talking about is if you have macros or complex formulae, AW may not be able to accurately convert that information.

    I hope this helps and sorry again.
     
  6. boneca thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    np, and thx for the answers again, I guess I will have to just wait and see. btw I will let you guys now how its worked out for me.
     

Share This Page