.exe woes

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Macoltrane, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. Macoltrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi there. I'm using a G4 iBook. Is there any way I can open a .exe file without having to buy and install Virtual PC? I need it to run some software for my class and it's driving me nuts. :(
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You could try another emulator that is cheaper than VPC, but basically no.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    IIRC, MS is now giving away VPC.

    Edit: never mind - that was the Windows version of it, apparently.
     
  4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #4
    you could buy a macbook :p

    What is the specs of your iBook, and what kind of .exe are you trying to open? If your computer isn't powerful enough, and your exe is too complex, there wouldn't be any point in using an emulator.
     
  5. Macoltrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #5
    I'm using a 1.33 ghz iBook. Can anyone tell me where I can find this emulator :confused: and how safe it is to use?
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    Without buying a version of VPC, you're very unlikely to have any joy. It was the best of the PPC emulators for x86 and it still wasn't particularly quick if what you're trying to run is at all complex. VPC was bundled with the pro version of Office - not sure if it's available separately.

    If you tell us what you're trying to run, someone might have a Mac PPC substitute that you might be able to use instead.
     
  7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Very safe, they are like normal applications, the window's part could get a virus but it wouldn't affect the Mac side, we should know what application you want to run, as Applespider said there might be a Mac/Unix version after all, which would run better...

    An emulator will be very slow if you have an old Windows 98 PC it will be faster...
     
  8. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    What program are you trying to run? No matter how esoteric a type of program I've needed to run I've always been able to find a Mac equivalent if I could not run the suggested program.
     
  9. emmaj Guest

    #9
    I have the same problem as the original poster-- have an ibook g4, hoping not to have to buy virtual PC (both because of $ and how slow I've heard it is).

    In my case, I'm looking to run Pajek and/or StocNet. These are both social network analysis tools. My searching has not turned up any way to run these on a Mac, but I figured someone here would know if there was a way!

    Thanks.
     
  10. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Virtual PC was really slow. The alternatives to Virtual PC were even worse.
     
  11. MikeTheC Guest

    MikeTheC

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    Gallifrey -- Capitol City, Prydonian Sector
    #11
    You have to have a Win32 environment to run a Win32 app; ergo, you have to be running Windows to use a Windows program. What everyone else said here is true and accurate, so I'd suggest buying the cheapest PC you can get your hands on to run the app in question, since it would probably be cheaper for you to spend $200-$400 on a PC than almost the same money for VirtualPC + Windows XP, and moreover it would run at a normal speed, whereas anytime you use an emulator, you take a MASSIVE performance hit.
     
  12. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #12
    If the apps are not resource hungry, just do what I did when I had to view some online videos that would not stream on a Mac: buy a super cheap PC on ebay and just use it. I paid $50 or so a while back for a 1.9Ghz Pentium 4 (from 2001). Sure, its junk compared to modern computers, but for my purposes, it works great.

    Oh, and you DO NOT WANT TO INSTALL VPC. First, the performance is so slow it will shock you. Second, it will likely mess up your OS. It did mine anyway.
     
  13. Arcane86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Steel City, Ontario
    #13

    what would owning a macbook have to do with it? i own a macbook and i cant open .exe files...
     
  14. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #14
    Macbooks are intel.

    Macbooks can run Windows.
     
  15. Arcane86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Steel City, Ontario
    #15
    so i need a copy of windows on here b4 i can use software cds that are only for windows?
    cuz i own "the ipod killer" the creative zen vision m. and the cd wouldnt run on my macbook. the .exe wouldnt be recognized either.
     
  16. bcooper0125 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    #16
    If you have an Intel MacBook (well...the MacBooks are Intel only...), you can use BootCamp to dual-boot into Windows. You will need to buy a legit copy of Windows XP, or Vista (on a MacBook, I'd recommend XP).

    So, yes, in order to run Windows programs, you will need to run the Windows OS. Just the same as you can't run MacOS programs on anything but MacOS.
     
  17. MorzillA macrumors 6502

    MorzillA

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #17
    what bcooper0125 said!!!!



    :apple:
     

Share This Page