exponents in OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by latergator116, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #1
    I have been going crazy for hours (okay, about 10 minutes) trying figure this out. How do I use enable the use of exponents on the keyboard? I am trying to write cm^2. Thanks.
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    It depends on what app you're using. In MS word, it's Command-Shift-Equals.
     
  3. latergator116 thread starter macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #3
    Sorry, should have mentioned, I'm using Appleworks 6. Command-shift-equal doesn't work in appleworks.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    You should have an option in the menu under Text -> Style -> Superscript or something similar... my AppleWorks is in Norwegian, and things are always called something slightly different from the most obvious translation... :eek:

    Try cmd-shift-+
     
  5. latergator116 thread starter macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #5
    Yes, that worked! I feel like an idiot for not finding that! Thanks a bunch. :)
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Hmmm... don't know. Look for "baseline shift" or "superscript." Maybe the program just can't do it.

    edit: oops. Nevermind.
     

Share This Page