Exposé Behaving Differently? (F11)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Hemingray, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #1
    Okay, I don't normally use Exposé, but today I hit F11, expecting all of my windows to scatter offscreen and expose my desktop (like it's always done in the past), but instead of doing that, this time it scaled down all of my windows into a little box in the lower left-hand corner! :confused: I didn't change any preferences (that I know of). Did F11's behavior change in a system update or something? Is anyone else experiencing this or know about this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Logik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
  3. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #3
    This is actually a hidden part of expose' that has been around and talked about. It is not available by default because it is known to cause system instability. Do you have any system tweaking software installed?
     
  4. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #4
    So if it is a [hidden] feature, what benefit does consolidating all windows into one area have?
     
  5. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #5
    Maybe it's hidden and not used because it has no benefit. :rolleyes:
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    IIRC, there might be some way to make this view persist while windows are open. I think the hack people did was to make minimized windows float in micro-form in the corner, instead of disappearing. I'll try to find the reference. Should also tell you how to undo it.

    EDIT: Linkety to fix it...but not the stupid human trick I was looking for in terms of what people *did* with it.
     
  7. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #7
    It is instead of the show desktop expose command. Ususally you will use show desktop to have easy access to the items (such as you HD) on the right of your screen. Putting them in a box on the left essentially serves the same purpose.
     
  8. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #8
    I did this before with the Expose hack. Don't remember what the line was you put in the Terminal. Just search for Expose hack / Piles on Google.
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    It was in the link I posted, but it is:

    defaults write com.apple.dock wvous-olddesktop -bool true
    killall dock (or restart)
     
  10. Hemingray thread starter macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #10
    Hm, I installed the newest version of Onyx awhile back, that's probably what caused this.

    Personally, I don't mind it all that much. What I hate about the regular F11 is that if you accidentally click on the outer edge you automatically bring all the windows back.
     
  11. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #11
    A major problem with that Exposé trick is that, after re-expansion, widgets (close/minimize/resize, scroll bars, toolbars, etc.) that are under where the mini-window was no longer respond to clicks. The only solution is to delete the offending preference and restart the computer (just restarting the Dock isn't enough).
     
  12. john1123 macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #12
    onyx is probably what caused it. in onyx, go under appearances -> exposé and the 'minimize desktop' checkbox is the one that changes this.

    and just as a comment to a previous post, having the mini desktop has not yet caused any instability on my ibook in the last 3 months.
     

Share This Page