Exposé doesn't work with AppleWorks

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Doctor Q, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Launch AppleWorks under Panther. When there are no AppleWorks document windows open, you will see the Starting Points window. Now invoke Exposé and the Starting Points window fades away. You can't see it, select it, or Tab to it.

    I just noticed this because I launched AppleWorks, went to look for something else in the Finder, and tried to switch back to AppleWorks.

    Is this the way all carbonized applications behave, or is this a "feature" of AppleWorks?
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I think it's just something special that's been done with AppleWorks. The Starting Points *window* doesn't appear under the Window menu either.

    iTunes is Carbon-ised but it shows up and so does QuickTime.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    I've seen a few apps that do this. I think it's to do with the way that the windows are styled. There are various different styles, and I guess some of them simply don't show up in Exposé.
     
  4. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #4
    Expose does some wierd things to different apps, when you have a Classic app open and use the show desktop command, the contents of the window starts moving before the borders of it, Firebird has a little hidden window that is only viewable when Expose is activated and some apps just disappear when its used. I think when a few more updates come along many of these bugs will be worked out.
     
  5. Doctor Q thread starter Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    After a little experimenting, I can see that the Starting Points window is treated as a palette (as are real AppleWorks palettes), and all palettes fade away in Exposé.

    Treating palettes this way is not particular to AppleWorks. For example, in Preview, select Edit -> Special Characters... and try Exposé. The Character Palette window will fade away.

    I think the Starting Points window should be treated as a document window, since it's the only thing you have to latch onto with Exposé, but I know AppleWorks in its current form is not a hotbed of development activity, so I won't worry about it.
     

Share This Page