Exposé Slower on 10.4??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MBHockey, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I've noticed that Exposé on Tiger seems much choppier...less fluid like it was on Panther. Anyone else noticing this?

    NB: This is not because of Spotlight indexing my hard disk...that was done a while ago.


    ------------------------
    Clean install of 10.4
    1GHz PowerBook G4
    1GB ram
    ATI 9000 64 MB
    No external displays connected
    Nothing eating up CPU in Activity Monitor/650+ MB of ram free
     
  2. ldburroughs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #2
    Everything seems snappier on my system. Dashboard/Expose both seem to run just fine with everything and its mother running in the background. I'm running an 1GHz, G4 iBook with 768 ram. Nothing fancy but everything is running really well, actually faster than I thought it would. I'm very pleased with the performance but don't see any real benefit beyond spotlight and dashboard. The other 198 features seem pretty meaningless on my system, but I'd pay for the performance update by itself. I'm sorry to hear you are not have the same good fortune with your system.
     
  3. slb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    Tiger is snappier for me too on my Mac mini 1.42ghz. But reading this thread, I checked out Expose, and yes, it is slightly choppy even though it was smooth on Panther. The genie effect when minimizing windows has also become choppy. Odd. I wonder why?
     
  4. QFace macrumors member

    QFace

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #4
    I agree... some things are snappier, but exposé is certainly not... it is much choppier. I've noticed it is choppy if I use it while Dashboard is enabled.

    Damn you dashboard.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    My whole system's running much smoother now apart from Expose. I've got no idea why, but your right, it does seem a little choppier. :( It's not all that bad though, but in Panther it was instant.
     
  6. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #6
    My iMac seemed to be doing the same, just a little on the choppy side for Expose and Genie effect, then I did a restart just for the heck of it, and it is better now. I have no idea why. The scrolling is much smoother then Panther. Very nice.
     
  7. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #7
    Expose little sluggish here too, while the rest of the system is better.
     
  8. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    Interesting...thanks for the posts guys.

    People on other forums suspect that it's just a 10.4.0 quartz bug that is affecting our systems, and will probably be resolved soon. I hope that proves to be the answer.
     
  9. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    All Tiger animations were very, very choppy on my eMac. Scrolling webpages, expose, genie animation, even the dock magnify animation was choppy! It was so unbearable I had to go back to Panther. I don't know whats up, but I hope it gets fixed soon :(
     
  10. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    I had a similar problem so I ran Activity Monitor to show all running processes (by default it will show current-user processes) and sorted the list by %CPU. A rogue VShield...<something> process was taxing the CPU (65-85%). Someone posted that all virus checkers fail with Tiger. After killing the process, everything was fine.
     
  11. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
  12. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #12
    I noticed that yesterday. I thought maybe it had to do with Core Image offloading the expose effect to my video card (Nvidia Go 5200)?
     
  13. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    I was on a Mac mini at the Apple store yesterday, and I noticed that exposé was significanlty more choppy than on my older 1Ghz iMac. But I assumed it was probably because it had a 20" Apple display hooked up to it.
     
  14. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #14
    Very odd. I've just sat and pressed my Exposé buttons several times and mine still seems instantaneous and non-choppy. I don't notice any difference between Panther or Tiger's exposé at all. My whole Finder and windows drawing/closing in general seem to be faster.
    My graphics card is CI supported and I've got lots of RAM so perhaps that's what's taking care of it.
     
  15. iMetalG5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    #15
    my friend who has 10.4 said expose is choppy and slow. I also noticed it at the store last night and today. Mac Minis being the choppiest and slowest. I probably did something as I got a kernel panic while messing around with a Mac mini at the store shhhhhhhh. But it rebooted fine but i walked away after that... :eek:
     
  16. igucl macrumors 6502a

    igucl

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    #16
    I notice no difference at all. In fact, to test it out, I opened all my applications and used expose; it was still perfectly smooth. I don't know what gives. I just have a lowly G4.
     
  17. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    Yeah i don't know what gives either...when i have only two or three windows open, expose is fast, but any more than that, it is noticeable choppier...and this never happened with Panther.
     
  18. thequicksilver macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #18
    It is definitely slower on my iBook (as below).
     
  19. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #19
    not slow on the computer in my sig, nor when dashboard is up on my desktop either, everything seems a bit quicker here
     
  20. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #20
    Exact same as it was for me in Panther.

    I wrote zeros to my hard drive, then Clean Installed Panther, Then iLife 05. If that helps.

    on my iBook 1.33 / 768 / Radeon 9200 32 MB
     
  21. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #21
    I wonder if any of this has to do with the moving of Quartz 2D over to the GPU.
     
  22. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

    Jigglelicious

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
    Quartz 2D Extreme is NOT currently activated in Tiger, so that can't be it.
     
  23. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
  24. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #24
    Hey Hockey :)

    Nope, I still don't see any Exposé slow down, but I do see some clunkiness with the login window. My login picture moving to the password phase is not smooth at all.. anyone else notice this?
     
  25. MBHockey thread starter macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #25
    Hey Yellow!...that transition you speak of is fine on my computer...but the expose slow down with more than 2-3 windows is still apparent...hopefully all these things are just bugs, and will be worked out in the first update

    Side note: Anyone know after how long the 10.3.1 update was released after the original Panther release?
     

Share This Page