Expose corners stopped working? Right clik messed up..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sdashiki, Apr 30, 2006.

  1. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #1
    Hmmmm, i dont get it.

    I restarted my computer just for kicks, and when I get back to it, Expose no longer functions as it should.

    If I click and drag a file, any file, into the 3 hot corners I have they all work, even Dashboard, but just put the cursor in the corner, nothing.

    Whats even weirder is that when I right click something, the cursor doesnt highlight the choice it is over, I have to left click and hold.

    this is all very strange.

    what the hell did I do, or can i do?
     
  2. Sdashiki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #2
    Well I still have no idea what I did....

    but if anyone has this similar problem, which upon searching the Apple Discussion boards seems to happen quite often...

    here is my solution.

    set your expose hot corners in System Prefs. to nothing ( - )

    restart.

    change your hot corners to your liking.

    I dont know how but this fixed the hot corner problem and the cursor highlight problem!
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I don't know if this would have solved your problem, but sometimes, when Exposé is not functioning correctly, killing and restarting the Dock (since it owns Exposé) helps....
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    First off, Sdashiki, you're avatar is rad.

    As for Expose? Not sure, sounds like a corrupted preference file which might explain why changing everything restarting and changing it back worked. Otherwise I've never had Expose ever mess up.
     
  5. Sdashiki thread starter macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #5
    thanks, my 'tar reaches so many different cultures....

    anti nazi
    anti bush
    pro Robo
    pro Dr. Doom
    pro anus bleeding

    theres more on my 'tar on another forum that allows larger files.


    the only thing I did recently that could have the potential for messing up Expose was the installation (or uninstallation) of Spotlight. I used tha freeware program to turn off Spotlight on my scratch drives.

    I doubt that had anything to do with it, but besides that I havent installed a dang thing...
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Heheheh...nice. :eek:

    I had noticed that, for whatever complex of reasons, the Dock was unstable in early versions of Tiger for my iBook, and it recently, in the latest dot upgrade, has been acting unstably again. I don't have to force restarts, but every once in a while, the dock is slow to respond, or Exposé is, and then, when you go to the bottom of the screen, you see the Dock restarting (it expands out from the center as it gets populated with icons). I hadn't seen that happen much in the past couple of dot upgrades of Tiger.... *le sigh*
     

Share This Page