Expose Idea

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by oldschool, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. oldschool macrumors 65816

    oldschool

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #1
    How does this sound:

    How about for "show all windows", the format is changed whereby the windows would be grouped by application.

    So the screen would be split into segments like if you had four applications with windows open, then the screen would be split in quarters, with each quarter having all the windows of that application in it.

    This could be an option in addition to the already present "show all windows" option, as my idea would obviously have the limitation of showing smaller window sizes.
     
  2. iChan macrumors 6502a

    iChan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    #2
    this sounds very similar to the "show all application windows" exposé feature.
     
  3. thecow macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Location:
    Timonium MD
    #3
    I think that would be a really good feature if they added it to panther.
     
  4. fBaran macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #4
    I think it's called F10.
     
  5. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #5
    i think what the orig. post meant is to have all the windows (from all apps) get shrunk (like F9 now) but the images of windows would cluster together by applications.

    say you have 2 terminals, 3 safari and 2 word windows open. instead of 7 windows being shrunk to random locations, it would shrink 2 terminals close together, 3 safari windows close together and so forth...
     
  6. oldschool thread starter macrumors 65816

    oldschool

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #6

    Exactly.
     
  7. oldschool thread starter macrumors 65816

    oldschool

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #7
    I think its not...my F10 doesn't do anything as i remapped my expose keys :D
     
  8. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    Although it might be useful to some people, I think I wouldn't use it. I never use F10 either, anyways. F9 and F11 are enough for me. If I ever needed to do that, I'd just Cmd-Tab to the needed application and use F10, anyways.
     
  9. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #9
    isn't that kind of backwards? why not use 10 instead of 9 and accomplish both at once? unless of course you need to see "only" the working application (assuming you get confused when all windows shrink). i use them all on hot corners. exposé is too much fun. so is cocoa gestures... i wonder if someone were to hack exposé so you could control it with cocoa gestures they could add this functionality to it; or not.


    peace.
     
  10. smllpx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #10
    If we are changing Expose, may I suggest virtual desktops? Please be like Irix, becuase it has been the best I have ever used.
     
  11. kylos macrumors 6502a

    kylos

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Location:
    MI
    #11
    I think this would be a nifty feature to add to exposé. Make it a checkbox in exposé prefs for those who don't want it since it would likely make the windows smaller.
     

Share This Page