ext. monitor woes

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by notwist, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. notwist macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    New Brunswick, NJ
    #1
    I use my MacBook with an external monitor whenever I am at home, but this morning I decided to take my MacBook with me to class. I just put it to sleep and disconnected the ext. monitor and the rest of the wires. When I took it out just now, I ran Safari but it seemed like the browser window was still 'on the ext. monitor'. I tried to Detect Displays, but could not get my computer to realize that there was no ext. monitor connected. I finally had to restart my computer to make it act normal. Do I have to restart my computer everytime I want to use it sans ext. monitor or is there something I did not do?
     
  2. MalcolmJID macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Did you sleep it THEN disconnect the external monitor?

    That could be the problem. Try disconnecting it first so the MB recognises the lack of external display, switches back to normal, THEN sleep it.
     
  3. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #3
    sometimes computers get goofy

    when in doubt restart.:apple:
     
  4. micsaund macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #4
    I've had issues where I started the Sleep and started unplugging the monitor/keyboard/mouse before it was actually sleeping.

    Thus, I now wait until I see the LED pulsing to unplug or do anything and the problems seem to have gone away.

    Mike
     
  5. notwist thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    New Brunswick, NJ
    #5
    Thanks guys. I know I can always restart if something is weird, but I had an uptime of ~1month before i restarted today!! :|
     
  6. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #6
    You dont need to restart. If you have the little screen logo set on the top left of ur screen (next to the battery, bluetooth and wireless icons) you can click it and select "Detect Displays"

    Your screen will proceed to go blue and then everything will go back to normal.

    If you don't have that little icon, just go to sys preferences --> displays and click detect displays.

    Also, when you have the icon up there, it's useful because you can see the when there's the problem. Like if you have that problem again, if you click on the icon, you'll see the resolutions for 2 screens (the built in one and the external one) at once, even when the external one is not plugged in. "Detecting displays" will rid your computer of the external screen's settings.

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page