external exapandability

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Planner Dude, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. Planner Dude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #1
    This may be a stupid question, but is there a way to create an external accessory box to house additional ram, graphic processors, and pci slots for a computer with limted exapandability? For example, could I create the box and connect it to an iMac so the max ram could be 4g rather than 2g.

    If so, is it an affordable solution?
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    not possible.
    ram and the like are fed directly into the motherboard and thus an external housing wouldn't work at all.
     
  3. Planner Dude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #3
    there is no way to make a connection to the motherboard?:(
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    well there are plenty of connections to the motherboard, but none of them would work for ram and video graphics which have to be soldered onto the board. or go through certain slots that are soldered onto the board. FW and the like would never work.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Computers don't work that way Planner Dude.

    For example: RAM limitations are a product of motherboard design. You cannot overcome them simply by hooking up more "externally".
     
  6. YoYoMac macrumors regular

    YoYoMac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    You seeing a trend moving in that direction? Do tell. :)
     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    its technology. everything always changes. its the nature of the tech world. so its a possibility, no? doubtful? yes.
     
  9. Planner Dude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #9
    So how is that some programs, such as NASA search for alien life, utilize volunteer's machines while they are inactive? Doesn't that involve the processor which is attached the motherboard?:confused:
     
  10. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    thats a totally different concept. that uses one's machine to process data, and send it back to 'home' so to say. you download packets, process them, and send back the data. simple as that.
     
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Quite doubtful yes..

    I started to make a list of why, but it doesn't matter and I don't really care and it's off topic.
    The answer to the OP's question has been put forth. :)

    Is SETI still part of NASA?

    Anyway, like PlaceofDis said, that's a totally different technology and concept. You download data, process it with software, and upload it back to SETI@Home. It's software, not hardware. It's a form of distributed computing, not an external 'add-on'.

    So I'm not sure how you're making the parallel.
     
  12. Planner Dude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #12
    Sorry for any inclarity

    I made the connection because I thought the "home" computer @ SETI was using the computer (actually commandeering it) during periods of activity for extra processing comapcity.

    As you can tell, I am no computer scientist:eek:
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Well it is.. that's exactly what it's doing. But remember it's a screen saver, so it's just software. And since your screen saver comes on when the computer is idle..

    FWIW, if little space men seems far fetched to you, there's always a more "practical" application called Folding@Home.
    Same concept, except it's for protein folding and based at Stanford.
     

Share This Page