Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ShadowHunter

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 27, 2003
Fresno
Is it possible to create an external firewire 2 drive mirror (say with the Mac Mini, which has only 1 firewire port that I can bridge from one enclosure to the next)?

patrick0brien

macrumors 68040
Oct 24, 2002
The West Loop
ShadowHunter said:
Is it possible to create an external firewire 2 drive mirror (say with the Mac Mini, which has only 1 firewire port that I can bridge from one enclosure to the next)?

-ShadowHunter

Um, well yeah - kinda. If you have two identical physical volumes external, yes - set that in the Disk Utility. As for Mirrorin and internal drive with an external. To be honest - never thought of it, so I don't know.

wooweebob

macrumors newbie
Mar 18, 2005
Silicon Valley
Not only is it possible. I have been doing this for almost 3 years on my iMac G4. However there are the following restrictions.
  • The volumes must be identicle in size
  • You cannot mirror the internal hard drive
What I did was buy 2 of the exact same hard drive then used Disk Tools to create the RAID.
I also moved my home directory to the RAID but that is another tip.

ShadowHunter

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 27, 2003
Fresno
wooweebob said:
Not only is it possible. I have been doing this for almost 3 years on my iMac G4. However there are the following restrictions.
  • The volumes must be identicle in size
  • You cannot mirror the internal hard drive
What I did was buy 2 of the exact same hard drive then used Disk Tools to create the RAID.
I also moved my home directory to the RAID but that is another tip.

Excellent, thank you both for your help.

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5