External Hard Drive??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by polevault139, Dec 27, 2006.

1. polevault139 macrumors 6502

I will be getting a Macbook for college in a few months (I like to plan ahead), and I was going to get a 2.0 Ghz, 2GB RAM, and 120GB HDD. I wanted to keep most of my music and picture library separate.

So what do I need to have an external hard drive? I am new at this so I have no idea.

Also if you could recommend some brands that would be appreciated.

Thanks alot

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

It would help to know a little more...

How much do you want to spend?
    Will you plan to take it with you occasionally or leave it in one place all the time?

B

3. polevault139 thread starter macrumors 6502

Money is not that much of an issue right now as I want to see what I need.

I would plan on keeping it (the hard drive) in one place and taking my notebook around with me.

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

You'd want to get a 3.5" drive with Firewire 400 and USB 2.0. Try to find one that spins at 7200rpm.

Popular brands are Seagate, Western Digital, Maxtor, LaCie in no particular order.

Something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144340
    perhaps. $114 for a 250GB external drive.

Too bad Macbooks don't have eSATA yet....

B

5. erickkoch macrumors 6502a

I would get an external drive that is at least as big as the one on your laptop.

What I do is make a bootable copy of my HD every few weeks and put it in my fire safe. That way if my laptop is ever stolen/lost or if the hard drive goes bad I can boot up from the external drive.

My safe is small so I use a Firelite. It's a very small drive and fits in my safe easily, it's powered by the USB cord so it doesn't need an external power supply.

6. polevault139 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the quick replies. So how do you make a bootable copy of your HD?

7. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member