External HD to internal ?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by DVDSP, Jan 27, 2003.

  1. DVDSP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #1
    I have an old external LaCie SCSI HD that I'd like to make an internal HD. It seems straight forward enough but I will need an internal SCSI cable and am wondering how to determine what kind of cable I'll need. Any ideas on how to do this?

    Also, will I need to plug it into my SCSI card or can I plug it into my existing HD?

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks,

    John
     
  2. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #2
    What kind of computer do you have? exact specs?

    pnw
     
  3. DVDSP thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #3
    Dual 450 Mhz Graphite G4, 30 GB ATA (IBM-DTLA-307030).

    Anything else you need to know?
     
  4. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #4
    Ah, my bad, i didn't realize you *have* a SCSI card. Yes, you'll need to plug it into this, it won't work on an IDE chain. I'm not good with SCSI, but your best bet is to look at the connectors on your card, and HD, count the pins, and go get a cable with that pin count... it's what i do whenever i'm trying to figure out which cable to get...

    pnw
     
  5. DVDSP thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #5
    Thanks Paul,

    I was hoping it would be that easy but I wasn't sure.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page