External HDD enclosure not detected

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by oober_freak, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. oober_freak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I recently bought a generic usb 2.0 3.5" hdd enclosure as I wanted to use my old Samsung 40 gb hdd for additional storage.


    I set the jumper on the disk to Master. Now when i connect it to my mac mini, it detects as "Usb to IDE" in System Profiler. I can hear the disk running. But, the problem is it does not mount the drive. I have 4 FAT 32 partitions on it. Disk Utility does not show the disk. The disk is fine as I was using it with my PC which I donated to a local school.

    Please help me!

    PS- I even tried with "cable select" and "slave" mode and even without jumpers. But, to no avail. Then I connected it to my cheapo hub and it was detected as usb 1.1 "USB to IDE" but still it did not mount
     
  2. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Your eyecandy link needs a user id and password to connect :rolleyes: :)
     
  3. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #3
    Have you tried with the enclosure connected directly to the mac mini? Did the enclosure come with an external power supply? If so, is the external power supply plugged in?
     
  4. oober_freak thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4

    yeah i connected it directly too.. and yes the power cord is plugged in. I guess it detects the enclosure but not the hard disk which is very strange because it worked perfectly till 3 days ago in my old PC.
     
  5. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #5
    Ok, just checking the obvious. :)

    Have you tried a different drive in the enclosure? Also, do you have any idea which chipset is used in the enclosure?

    I've always stuck to the Oxford bridge chipsets in the enclosures I've used and have not had any problems. There are various reports of other bridge chips having compatibility issues.
     
  6. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #6
    Do you buy chance have another disk to try? How about a CD-Rom drive? I have 3 different cases, with Prolific, Genesys, and Oxford chipsets, they all work great.

    Try to figure out the chipset you enclosure, and see if there is a firmware update.

    Kimo
     

Share This Page