External iSight with new iMac.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macgeek2005, Jan 31, 2006.

  1. macgeek2005 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible to plug in an external iSight camera with the new iMac and turn off the internal one? My mom is going to buy the 20" iMac, because my brother is going to take cello lessons over the iChat AV, and he needs the freedom of moving the camera around.

    Also, is the 20" iMac the best option for video conferencing? Does it run it fast enough?

    Thanks
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Absolutely, you can plug in an external iSight. Not sure how you turn off the internal one, but you can just select the external one for iChat.

    Any iMac you can buy from Apple now will be more than powerful enough for iChat, and the Intel ones will support 4-way conferencing.

    See shots taken with internal and external iSights on a 17" Intel iMac.
     
  3. macgeek2005 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #3
    I know this is a REALLY dumb question, but my mom wouldn't believe me, when I told her that her 450mhz G4 Cube wouldn't run video conferencing through iChat AV too nicely.

    Can someone confirm this? That thing has a 16mb video card........

    erm, sorry for double posting, but I really need to know whether a 450mhz G4 cube will run iChat AV/iSight, because if not, my mom is probably ordering the new iMac, like now.
     
  4. miloblithe macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
  5. macgeek2005 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #5
    Would it work okay? Or would the cubes ATI Rage 128 Pro/16mb video card just not be able to do it fast enough?
     
  6. miloblithe macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    I imagine it would work acceptably, depending on what you're willing to accept.

    If you're planning on buying an iSight regardless of whether or not you get the new computer, why not try it out and if it's too slow get the new computer?
     
  7. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    If I had a choice go for the new iMac, not the cube... its built in and you dont have to worry about it because it is more than fast enough.
     
  8. macgeek2005 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #8
    Thanks.

    One more question. Would a normal video camera be able to do what the iSight does? We have a Sony TRV 950 Camcorder, and I was wondering, couldn't I plug it into the computer, and use it through iChat AV?
     
  9. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9
    Too my understanding (haven't done it since iChat AV first came out) a digital camcorder will work, and will be significantly better than an isight.
     
  10. miloblithe macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    Video cameras work, but the only one I've seen used was quirky. The video camera would shut off after a few minutes unless it was recording. Expect a little oddity, but it definitely works.
     
  11. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #11
    It will work no problem. I used a camcorder before I ever got an iSight and it work perfectly.
     
  12. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #12
    Video camera quality is definitely superior to that of the iSight (bigger lens, etc.), and the problem with it going into standby can easily be fixed if you have the manual handy to read - on many camcorders, if you don't insert a tape, they will stay on. YMMV, but there's undoubtedly a way to keep it from powering down.
     

Share This Page