External Monitor Problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mhill, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. Mhill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #1
    Hey there treated my self to a 23inch White Samsung HD LCD today it looks absolutely mint but my only think is the Samsung chops of the top and bottom of the screen in both mirroring and dual screen!

    I tried a bit of the wonders search button but to no avail, what i did learn however it is something to do with overloading!? and there is way to stop it doing this but no mention of it!

    Is there any one that could point me in the right direction? :confused:
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Is this a television? Does it have a "computer" mode?

    It's "overscanning," by the way... if you aren't able to resolve it using the adjustments on the TV, then you might try something like SwitchResX, which can add a resolution to your display preferences that is exactly what the display wants...
     
  3. Mhill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #3
    Yep its a TV it has a "Computer" mode but this for the VGA input only!

    ah yep overs scaning that's what i meant! lol

    I will give SwitchResX a try thanks very much for your quick reply much appreciated.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    So you're using a DVI->HDMI cable or something like that?

    In SwitchResX, you will probably have to specifically define the size of the overscan areas. You'll end up with a practical screen resolution that's slightly "off" from a normal one. But it should work.

    Link, btw: SwitchResX

    It's not free, but when all you have to do is set up one monitor in one or two resolutions, you can use it as a trial, and then you "keep" the settings even if you get rid of it.
     
  5. Mhill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #5
    Yep I'm using DVI to HDMI

    any idea what sort of size i would have to define not got to muck of a clue about these things!

    The panel resolution is 1366x768
    Its a Samsung LE23R71B by the way.

    Thanks very much for your help really very much appreciated
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    The first thing to try is to set it to this actual resolution (that's what mine wants -- at 1366x768, it fits perfectly). Otherwise, I'm really not sure. It's probably on the order of 10-15 pixels a side.
     

Share This Page