Extra Pioneer DVDRW drive causing problems in OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spanky Deluxe, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I got my mac pro with the single superdrive option with the idea of adding in my few month old Pioneer DVDRW drive (which I've used in a Mac before without any issues). When I attatch it in the second drive bay in my Mac Pro, OS X detects both drives (both the Pioneer 111D and my old 101 drive) but it can't read any disks put into either drive.

    System Profiler displays the drives as:

    PIONMER LVL-RW LVR-111D
    PIONMER @VL-RW @VR-101

    They are both set to cable select.

    The details given by System Profiler for both of the drives are:

    PIONMER LVL-RW LVR-111D:

    Capacity: 6.33 GB
    Model: PIONMER LVL-RW LVR-111D
    Revision: AB09
    Removable Media: Yes
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk4
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    Low Power Polling: Yes
    OS9 Drivers: No
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Not Supported

    PIONMER @VL-RW @VR-101:

    Model: PIONMER @VL-RW @VR-101
    Revision: 1.09
    Detachable Drive: No
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 1
    Socket Type: Internal
    Low Power Polling: No

    Can anyone help me get this second drive working? The original drive works fine when the second one isn't attatched. I'll try the new drive on its own shortly and I haven't tried them in Windows yet.


    Edit: With just the original superdrive in, System Profiler reports the following:

    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-111D:

    Model: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-111D
    Revision: AB09
    Detachable Drive: No
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    Low Power Polling: Yes
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Weird i put an extra pioneer in and it was no trouble.

    Have you done the usual, reset p-ram and then repaired permissions ?

    Also what does Toast say ?
     
  3. Spanky Deluxe thread starter macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I don't use or have Toast right now so I can't see what that says. Like I said, I've used this drive in another mac before without any problems. I'll have a go resetting the pram and see what happens.
     
  4. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
  5. aviationwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #5
    Try making the bottom one slave instead of cable select.

    I had an issue like this and that seemed to fix it.
     

Share This Page