Eye TV EZ

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by knicksfan58, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. knicksfan58 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #1
    Hi--if anybody could help me concerning the el gato eye tv ez, I'd be grateful. Can I connect it directly to my powerbook and watch tv or does it also need to be connected to a cable box, etc.? The el gato website, I've found, is somewhat unclear about this. Thanks.
     
  2. pianodude123 macrumors 6502a

    pianodude123

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    in the internet
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    The EyeTV EZ has coaxial, composite, and S-video inputs. It can pick up analog over the air and you can plug in any other video device that has composite/S-video out.
     
  4. nsutt22 macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #4
    What about like the 250 and the 500 do those have coaxial?
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    The 250 does for standard over the air. I believe the discontinued 500 did for over the air HD.
     
  6. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #6
    I went for the 250. It has an on board encoder so doesnt take all your processor power
     
  7. nsutt22 macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #7
    What do u mean over the air? can't u plug it into your cable box to get all your cable shows?
     
  8. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    You can plug your cable box into IT to get all your cable shows, yes.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Shouldn't your cable box have an output that's better then coaxial?
     
  10. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #10
    Isn't that how all cable is?

    Or are you thinking of coaxial sound and not the coaxial TV cable?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    Most of the local boxes here are digital now. So we have S-Video and composite out. In addition to ye old coaxial.
     

Share This Page