EyeTV2.32 crashing in Mac Pro w/ other apps open

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by asencif, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. asencif macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    So far my MP 2.66 w 3GB of RAM has been running great, but yesterday I had all sorts of issues when using EyeTV 2.32 for the first time on it. I had used the PPC version on a lesser G4 and it never crashed, however this Uni version 2.32 seems like it is eating up a lot of resources just on compacting video. When I was editing, it took up to 2.0GB of memory for iMovie HD which I had open as well.

    I believe the MP should be able to mult-task with these apps, but iMovie HD then quit and later on EyeTV 2.32 also quit. Also, noticed that the Hard Drive was working very hard and noisy when exporing in EyeTV. I don't think I have a bad HD or bad RAM. It's all Apple RAM and has been working fine, although I have never tested the system like this till last night. How's everyone else's MP running with a lot of these apps working hard? Want to make sure is just EyeTV's latest version that is buggy. I don't have FCP right now to further test something intensive.
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    2.3.2 is horrible, I would revert back to 2.3.1 if i were you.

    this latest update is buggy as all hell. I tried it for 10 minutes and the audio would drop out every couple of seconds PiP wouldn't work and it was just buggy
     
  3. asencif thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for sharing that. I wouldn't think 2.32 would be a Mac Pro killer, but it seems that on Version Tracker people are complaining about major issue. None about the RAM hogging though, yet that may be another problem with it.
     
  4. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    i'm also having problems with 2.32. i can't get my mac pro to export a file in HD to a format that i can edit in FCP. also, i exported an HD file to mp4, and it looked horrible. not even watchable.

    how do i go back to 2.3.1?
     
  5. asencif thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #5
    If it's not too much trouble can you monitor your system's RAM usage when you're doing any exporting or editing with 2.32? I want to know that's it's just not my MP that can't handle this much usage. Try having iMovie HD playing a clip while exporting in EyeTV or just compacting. Not sure how much RAM you have, but there's 3GB of Apple RAM in mine and the HD was noisy when doing work with 2.32. After that can you tell me the results in 2.31....

    I think you can just copy 2.31 into the applications folder and overwrite the old one. Not sure if any recordings you've done in 2.32 will work though. You can probably dig it up in versiontracker or macupdate.
     
  6. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    i'll try to do a test tonight if i have time
     
  7. technocoy macrumors 6502a

    technocoy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #7
    i'm having issues as well...

    Just running the little miglia USB stick (not even HD) it's like it has a memory leak or something.. as the TV signal plays it slowly starts to "stutter" or something and gets worse and worse until i restart the app. i am considering going back a version as well. running on a mac pro 2.66 3 gigs of RAM and the x1900 this app should be running like butter. especially at standard definition.
     
  8. asencif thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #8
    Exactly....My MP felt like it was a Single G4 the way that app(2.32) was eating up resources and slowing everything else down.
     
  9. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    This is mot odd. I updated three days ago and everything has been working just fine on my Mac Pro.

    Recording, editing, and export to MP4 looking OK while watching two TV channels (PiP is a nice new feature - though of limited use as I can only wathc channels on the same digital multiplex) Safari, iTunes, Word, Excel, Illustrator all open and with Handbreak chewing its way through season 2 of SG1.

    Memory usage by EyeTV is 162 real and 630 virtual memory utilization at the moment. Have to wait and see what the quality comes out like.

    Guess getting that 4GBytes of memory was a good move. Have to work at maxing out this rig.
     
  10. asencif thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #10
    What did you update? To 4GB Ram? Or to EyeTV 2.32? 10.4.8? I downgraded the EyeTV app to 2.31 and not it's taking up about 83.50 Real. I was also able to export HD to Mpeg. So the 2.32 is buggy on my MP.

    Also, is it normal to export a 4.8GB 1920 X 1080 HD 42 min video to H.264/AVC 1920x1080 Multi-pass in 4 hours in EyeTV?
     
  11. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #11
    2.3.2 has just been horrendous. I do have 2.3.1 on my HD if any eyetv users can't find 2.3.1 i can upload it for use.

    just PM me if needed
     
  12. Monyx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    v2.3 is rock stable on my MP 2.66 3GB RAM 10.4.8

    EyeTV Activity Mon reports: 14 threads, Real Mem: 31.1 MB Virtual 431.15 MB
     
  13. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Only updated EyeTV 2.3.2

    Already had the memory and 10.4.8 installed.

    Have not tried output at HD res - not much point really when the source is standard PAL. Exporting video to native res gives perfect quality using multi-pass processing.
     
  14. knome macrumors 6502

    knome

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #14
    i emailed the people about it and they released a new build on their web site but it still is called 2.3.2. Try downloading it, they said they fixed a bunch of audio problems with the mac pro.
     

Share This Page