F@H...on a fast computer...read this

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by yzeater, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    #1
    Hey-
    I just wanted to let you know that I've joined the folding 3446 effort. I've got a PB500 and a K6-500 running it. We have a special computer at our school that's relatively fast, I'm going to ask if we can run F@H on it...first person to guess what it is gets pride! (We're the only school in America with one, and this is our second)
    -Stephen
     
  2. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #2
    **dreams that macrumors will have a cray folding**
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
  4. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #4
    You happen to have one handy?;)

    Yzeater, what is it? the suspense is killing me...:confused:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Ooooo...it's a Bricklin SV-1? Oh, that was a great car, but I can't see as that as good as a computer. :D
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #7
    Does this supercomputer run one of the OSes required for the client? Would running all those processors at 100% for prolonged periods fair welll with it?

    intriguing. keep us posted on your progress.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
  9. macrumors 68030

    medea

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Location:
    Madison, Wi
    #9
    hmm, I don't even know what a Cray is?
    Help a brotha out.
     
  10. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Well a few years ago my friends and I dreamed of it as the perfect computer. Since then I have begun to wonder what software runs on it. According to another thread it has 8 500mhz processors and 32 gigs of ram :D:D:D
     
  11. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #11
    haha.

    So what is this computer or atleast tell us what OS it runs on. :-D
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
  14. macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    You lucky SOB. I hope you can get it working, it should make quite a nice F@H client. :)
     
  15. macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #15
    Re: This?

    My Dual/GHz/DDR PowerMac can provide up to 10GFlops in real world applications so what's the big deal about an old Cray that can only achieve 8GFlops?
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    #16
    Did your Dual Ghz cost 3 mil:D
    It has 32 gigs of ram...that must make a difference
     
  17. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #17
    No kidding, anyway the Cray OS is probably like *nix so it is less graphical based and runs faster, heck I'm sure there is some command to run like only folding :-D :p
     
  18. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Re: Re: This?

    That is only alti-vec enhanced apps, which folding is not. :p (yet)
     
  19. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #19
    Isn't folding like 20 % faster running OS 9 over OS X, why is that?
     
  20. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #20
    OS X is a lot more complicated for processors than OS 9. Drop shadows, genie effects and such, aqua and transparency are processor things of nightmares. There are more reasons. More knowledgable people will have some more examples.
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #21
    What are the chances you can use it for this? Also, would you know how to get folding to work on it? Can anyone tell us how fast it would crunch a core?
     
  22. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #22
    well I know for all the effects but if I'm not using basically any memory or any other CPU but that and it runs: hella alot slower, not optomized?
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I'm not sure where you got that from. However, folding does not run on OS9.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #24
    It seems Crays use UNICOS, as the operating system. I wonder when/if it will be cheaper to cluster Xserves to get the same computing power. I could see a few racks of Xserves connected with optical fibre channel and a few Xraids... *drools*
     
  25. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    #25
    let's hope this works guys. Can folding run on UNICOS?
     

Share This Page