F@H Widget needs testing

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by pgwalsh, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. pgwalsh, Oct 22, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #1
    There's a new Beta for F@H WUdget http://sites.google.com/site/pgwalsh/beta

    Beta 1.5.7k
    Note: This client only works with the current beta V7.1.48 and not the previous. FAHControl has had some backend changes in the way they format dates and has also removed some fields. Please keep an eye on Elapsed Time and Estimated Finish as these were effected the most. They appear to be accurate most of the time, but sometimes not.

    New:
    • Background Update Agent for widget.
    • Folding@home News RSS feed integrated. Only shows the newest post.
    • Works with latest client.

    Changes:
    • Remote stats is now saved in Application Folder instead of preferences.
    • Elapsed Time and Finish have been changed. Should be more accurate.
    • Many backend changes.

    Bug Fixes:
    • Fixed some unit name recognition. As before this is an ongoing thing.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Oh sweet! This is far nicer looking then the current one I am using. I will install it on my Mac Pro tonight :D
     
  3. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #4
    I believe it's 10.4.1 compatible, though that's just via dashcode. I only have 10.5 installed on a Mac Pro and MacBook.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    this looks very nice. i wouldn't mind trying it out for you
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #6
    I would try it too, please email!

    An idea: could you support people who have contributed to multiple teams also? FAH provides these stats also...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #7
    I'd prefer if you'd email me through the forum's and then I can email you the widget. :cool:

    The widget can provide for multiple teams, but you need to create an instance for each widget. The information comes directly from the Folding@home website, not from a third party.

    I'll email you the new beta as soon as I'm finished, which will be tonight or tomorrow. /dev/toaster has been very helpful in the initial tests.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #8
    i sent you an email, if you still need more feedback
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #9
    I meant even crunching for only one team thus using one widget, can you also show the user total WU/rank combining all the team, numbers provided by the FAH stat in the same place you check the stat for just one team.
    Check my FAH individual stat page on FAH to see what I mean (user SciFrog).

    Check your PM for email...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #10
    It shows WU total for all teams at the top of the widget from the page of a user and you don't have to provide a team number. Total WU is all work units for a user. Work Units is the total for a user and a particular team. It's all the same information from the stats page without going to the site. The Rank in Team is from the fast user page and therefore is a bit behind, but that is the only page that supports every user from a team.

    I hope I answered your question.
     
  11. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #11
    well i never received a response. i guess you don't need more feedback
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #12
    I responded shortly after you sent it. I'll send another.
     
  13. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13
    i got it, thanks. i am not on my folding machine right now, but running it to just get my stats, it runs great.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #14
    Widget is ready!

    Okay.. after some very helpful beta testing by /dev/toaster, twoodcc and SciFrog the widget is ready.

    You can find it here: Apple.com


    The new look:
     
  15. macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #16
    Thanks... the release version is slightly different than the last beta I sent you, so if you want some very minor improvements.
     
  17. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #17
    I haven't had a chance to test this. I currently use Increase to get the work. Does the widget also use up all cpu for max output? or is that a "feature" of the SMP cores?
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #18
    I'm not completely following you, but increase should be fine for maximizing your work unit output. This widget is for display your statistics through dashboard. I have no idea if increase does this or not as I've never used it.
     
  19. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #19
    hehehehe, never mind, I should have refreshed my memory by reading the original posts again. :eek:
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #20
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    #21
    Doesn't seem to work for me on my Mac Pro running two clients simultaneously (Prefpane and console-only).
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #22
    That's not very descriptive, so it'll be hard to fix. If you could provide a little detail that would be helpful. For example: which folding version of the clients are you using? Are they 6.02 or 5.02 or the new beta? There's a link on the bottom of the back where you can email me directly. Without more specifics, it would be hard to to fix.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #23
    F@H WUdget 1.0 available

    Update F@H WUdget. Has several new features. Info on thread 1.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #24
    Website error?

    No info on me or team (yes my info is on the "back"), has info on work unit, averages & add info.

    Let me know if you additional info
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 68000

    pgwalsh

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    #25
    Are you just getting the local computer info information? How long have you been running the widget?

    Folding at home's website statistics go down for about an hour every three hours. So if it doesn't update give it some time. You'll see that there's a retry timer that set for 5 minutes and the regular time is 90 minutes.
     

Share This Page