Facebook integration

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Michael Goff, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. Michael Goff
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #1
    When we get it in.. "fall", think we're going to get Facebook chat integration with Messages?
     
  2. pdjudd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    Doubt it. I don’t see messages as increasing it’s protocols. Especially given that Apple never talked about it on the iOS platform.
     
  3. petvas
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
  4. ADMProducer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
  5. pdjudd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #5
    Except that iChat is going away and is being replaced in Mountain Lion. What is possible in iChat is irrelevant to iMessage. They are different programs
     
  6. ADMProducer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #6
    Do your research. iMessage is iChat with a partially new frontend. You can still have access to all the same iChat functions as before.

    See here: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/facebook-chat-macosx/
     
  7. pdjudd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #7
    Huh... last I opened the program I didn’t see any options for Jabber. I guess I was mistaken...
     
  8. NotYoMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    NotYoMac

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mineola, TX
    #8
  9. Michael Goff
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 604

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
  10. riley41090
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #10
    i followed the instructions completely but once i added the account it merely says 'Jabber Available' - it does not list my contacts... any help?
     

Share This Page