FaceTime may be available for ALL AT&T users now!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kre62, Nov 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kre62, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #1
    Hi all

    In a recent thread we were discussing AT&T members getting facetime with LTE devices and tiered plans. However I noticed today that I have facetime over cellular and I have an unlimited plan on my 5.

    I just turned off my other phone, a 4S and turned it back on, only to find the switch flipped to ON for facetime over cellular. Both phones work perfectly over cellular.

    I also checked a few coworkers phones, all now have FT over cellular.

    If you have ATT, turn your phone off and back on and report back if you now have FT over cellular.

    Edit:

    This story has now been picked up by all major tech blogs. Props to Gizmodo for being the only one (other than MR) to mention me by name. First class journalism right there.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Rockland/Manhattan/Bay Area
    #2
    this works! I just did it! iPhone 5 running iOS 6.0.1
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #3
    Awesome, good to hear. Looks like we can have it all now. Very glad ATT came around.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
  5. macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    Also still getting the popup. No change after reboot.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Rockland/Manhattan/Bay Area
    #6
    maybe it's affecting customers in different areas. I'm located in NY.. roll out is gradually taking place
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #7
    Hmm youre first I've heard so far. Rollout could be progressive. More success stories in original thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1492787&page=2

    Did you cycle all the way off? Dont do a reset, fully power down.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #8
    Still no go for me :(. On the 4GB hotspot plan with LTE.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #9
    Could be. Im in California though, so got both coasts represented
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #10
    I got it! And I'm on the unlimited data plan with AT&T. I'm going to go use it and see if it actually works! :D
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #11
    Awesome.

    Looks like its hit or miss. THose who dont have it, wait a day or so and try again.
     
  12. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Washington DC
  13. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #13
    In California and on unlimited too. No go as of yet. I'll keep trying.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #14
    I'm in upstate NY, not sure if it makes a difference but I'm on a 3GB tiered plan on an iPhone 5 6.0.1. I'm tempted to try resetting network settings and rebooting again.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #15
    Hmm when I looked back at my settings, it got turned off. When I turned it back on, I got the pop up and instead of going to "cancel" or "go to website" I decided to reset my iPhone 5 with the Facetime toggle still on in the background, when it booted up, I immediately placed a facetime call with my mom, and sure enough I was facetiming on LTE. :D
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #16
    Interesting method
     
  17. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #17
    Tried this method and it still switched to off upon rebooting.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #18
    It's still on as we speak. Now I'm wondering if AT&T can tell when someone is using Facetime on LTE.

    I see. It must be a regional thing like someone mentioned earlier then. :(
     
  19. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #19
    When you look at your setting again, is it switched to on or off even with FT working?
     
  20. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Still nothing here. I5 on an unlimited data plan.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #21
    Being on a tiered plan, you should have already been able to use FT over cellular
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #22
    I've attached some screenshots to show you that's still on and I can make a Facetime call on my unlimited data plan. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Applejuiced, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012

    macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    Maybe all the FCC complains paid off.
    Christmas may come early this year for AT&T customers:)
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    SamGabbay

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #24
    Works for me, I'm on AT&T unlimited and in New York.:D:D:D:D
     
  25. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #25
    I'm still locked out on my 4S. Outside of Philly if that matters.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page