Fafsa is incompatible with my browser

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dukebound85, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    And I have tried the latest Safari (which it should support), the latest FF (which it should support) and the latest Chrome (which it should support)

    All three browsers are listed as supported under there compatible browsers for OSX. Anyone else run into this issue?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    FAFSA works just fine for me in Opera and Firefox (I never tried it with Safari).

    Sorry bud. Doesn't look like you're going to get any financial aid. :(



    ;)

    It could be a problem with the site or something odd with your account. Have you tried logging in on a regular (read: Windows) computer?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    I would try if I had a windows pc around!

    Don't know what may be causing this lol
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    aross99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #4
    I have completed several FAFSA's with Safari. It seems like the browser message is a warning, but you can continue past it and it works fine...
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    #5
    I finished the FASFA on safari this year with no problems.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    #6
    Fafsa not on a mac

    Tried everything recommended on Rumors and nothing. Have Lion and updated browsers and even downgraded a few browsers but nothing. Loaded Opera but still incompatible browser. Great way for the Fed. Gov. to keep their money.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #7
    It worked on Safari last year but presently I am facing the same issue. To workaround goto the develop menu and choose IE 8.0 in Safari. Viola, it works!
     
  8. macrumors 603

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #8
    I've heard that other's had luck changing the user agent string to something else.......as just mentioned above!
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    tktaylor1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #9
    Funny thing, I just tried like an hour ago to update my FAFSA and it didn't work. It didn't work with Firefox either. It said something about my internet connection on Firefox, I am wondering if it is because I was on Wifi? My mom is going to go to her work and update everything.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar

Share This Page