false feature of iMovie!!!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by stoid, May 24, 2002.

  1. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #1
    So I'm doing a reverse clip in iMovie, and it looks wonderful on screen, but as soon as I export it to camera and TV, or even DVD, it gets all interlased and jittery. Apple says iMovie does smooth reverse clips. Lying bastards!!
     
  2. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #2
    Re: false feature of iMovie!!!

    call they jive asses up and ask em about it!

    i mean, it's consumer level software, they should expect folks to have some problems... call!
     
  3. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    Re: Re: false feature of iMovie!!!

    If you live near an Apple Store, you might even get better results by going in and asking the 'Geniuses' They have iMovies on tons of machines, pick one like yours and try the exact same thing and see what happens. I've used FCP, which is a very simillar program underneith the GUI, and not had any problems.
     
  4. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #4
    It's also very expensive....I wish I had a camera to do some Video editing work......it looks like fun
     
  5. stoid thread starter macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    For all you vid-wizzes out here, is DV NTSC 720x480 straight or 720x480 interlaced??
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6

    It's interlaced. Unless yer shooting w/a camera that can do progressive scan. But if you were using a prog scan camera you would be asking this question to begin with. ;)


    Lethal
     
  7. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #7
    Re: false feature of iMovie!!!


    When you exported to the camera, did you click Render Now? That makes the reverse clips and slowed down clips smooth for camera or TV.

    But if DID do that, well then, thats not a problem for everyone, cause it works perfectly for me. :confused: :confused:



    irmongoose
     
  8. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Re: Re: false feature of iMovie!!!


    I'm w/irmongoose. I just captured some video into iMovie. Reversed it. Rendered it. And spat it back out and it loox fine on my TV. If yer having a problem it's a problem on yer end, not w/iMovie itself.

    And before you start b*tching that iMovie doesn't work right, or yer DVDs aren't being created fast enough why don't you ask for help first to make sure you are using the software/hardware correctly.


    Lethal
     
  9. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #9
    Re: false feature of iMovie!!!

    WT..... Man, why is it that everyone wants to jump down Apples through for every ID10T error that happens in the world. Try it again. It is obvioius that something was not done correctly in the process. Relax, have a coke and a smile, and then try again.
     

Share This Page