famous weight loss stories

Discussion in 'Community' started by jefhatfield, Jul 10, 2002.

1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

i started talking weight loss on another unrelated thread, so i thought i would start a proper thread on the topic

what's your stories on the topic?

twenty years ago, i graduated high school at 130 lbs at five foot seven
    -ten years later i got to 150
    -a few years after that, i got to near 180
    -then i dieted for the first time and got to 150
    -several years later i gradually got back to 180
    -now i am losing weight again and trying to get anywhere under 160 but this time it's harder
    -but this second time around dieting, i want to keep the weight off permanently

that's it in a nutshell:D

2. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart

my story...

First off, I've never really had a weight problem...with that said...

I graduated high school in '95, weighing about 125 lbs...now keep in mind I'm only 5'5. Anyway, I used to workout and all, but got quite lazy after high school. I worked retail right across from a convenient store which I frequented constantly while working. Eating out all the time, going out drinking (lots of beer) 3-4 times a week, and pure laziness put up to 155 lbs within 2 years.

As of the summer of '97, I went from having a size 30 waist to a 32. I finally woke up and realized just what I was doing to myself when my size 32's were starting to fit a little snug, so I decided to start eating a bit healthier to lose a few lbs. I just so happened that my girlfriend at the time dumped me, and from the sheer depression I lost 10 lbs in a week (I didn't eat for 3 days literally :eek:). That jumpstarted the weightloss. However, I was still not doing well emotionally, so I started exercising again to help ease the tension I carried around all the time. Within 3 month I had lost 25 lbs, and was starting to feel really great.