Fast OS Switching now possible (Video inside)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by odedia, Apr 24, 2006.

  1. odedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #1
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    That's pretty neat, and on a slightly unrelated note it's good to see that Parallels now has fullscreen support.
     
  3. odedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #3
    Has any1 managed to install beta 4? mine kept crashing the installation process on me.

    Oded S.
     
  4. zweigand macrumors 6502a

    zweigand

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #4
    I can see that becoming one of the new features of Leopard. Good to see if for some reason it doesn't, someone will make it. :D
     
  5. solarisc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #5
    so how exactly could i do it with my powerbook g4?

    I know about virtual pc but that's too slow for me. Is it possible to switch between OS fast on PB G4?

    Thanks much
     
  6. Superdrive macrumors 6502a

    Superdrive

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #6
    Nope. Only the newest Macs (read: Intel Macs) are able to run the Parallels software demonstrated. It is what takes advantage of the Intel architecture allowing Windows to run at speeds unimaginable in Virtual PC.
     
  7. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #7
    Beta 5 is out now (will full screen support, USB and cube screen switching), give it a go instead. It pretty much rocks IMHO.
     
  8. zv470 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    You need an Intel powered Mac.
     
  9. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
  10. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #10
    Slightly disturbing, but I suppose it will be very useful to some people.
     
  11. Photorun macrumors 65816

    Photorun

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Wow! That's pretty cool! Now if you had SGI there'd be four OSs spinning. Parallels seems very promising.

    Too bad about the monitor though.
     
  12. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #12
    Yes. Has done for a while.
     
  13. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #13
    Although it is a nice feature, I for one want to get as much done with one OS as humanly possible. I hate the fact that I have to switch to Windows because of a couple of lame websites that don't know how to code for anything but IE. Not sure why I'd want to have Linux as an option either. To each his own I guess :cool:
     
  14. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #14
    The linux option is good for me because RSI have yet to release an Intel native Mac binary of IDL. However, I can run the Linux version in a VM fine and the speed is great (much better than running PPC IDL under Rosetta). I can even just minimise the Parallels VM window and ssh into the virtual Linux machine I'm running to use it. Very nice. ;)
     
  15. xPismo macrumors 6502a

    xPismo

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    California.
    #15
    True. But you can use the good ol VPC on a G4 mac to get the same effect:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rk-dSzqKjnM&mode=related&search=

    Just ran over it while looking for something totally different (xbox stuff) and had this up the background. I just had to share. :D
     
  16. cmcconkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #16
    How is he accomplishing the fast switching and allowing the iTunes to play over the other "switch screens"?

    I can see this being handy on my 15" Powerbook.

    Christopher
     
  17. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #17
    If you're using multiple desktops, Mac OS is still going in the background, as is iTunes. All you're doing is switching to a different monitor, as it were.
     
  18. cmcconkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #18
    How is it that you set this up? I have done a little bit of searching but just cannot seem to find anything on it.

    Thanks
    Christopher
     
  19. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #19

Share This Page