Fast User Switching and "trust"

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by yadmonkey, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. macrumors 65816

    yadmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Western Spiral
    #1
    Hi, when you activate fast user switching, it gives you a little note that says you should only activate this if you "trust" the other users on your computer, but it doesn't say why. Well since you need passwords to return to your own user profile, what can the other users do that requires your trust? Is there some security hole that I should know about?
     
  2. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Re: Fast User Switching and "trust"


    I don't need the passwords to go back between the accounts, so I think that's where the trust comes in. Also, if the other person has an administrator password, he can shut down the computer while your work may be left in the other account.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    yadmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Western Spiral
    #3
    ahhh.. thanks, Wes. So I guess since I am the only admin on this computer and require passwords for user switching, it is pretty failsafe.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Presumably, someone on a switched account without administrative rights could crash the system whilst you are AFK, albeit by accident. Again, possible loss of work.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #5
    Also, presumably, they could use top in the Terminal to find out what you're running, and kill it.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #6
    I think there are also certain apps that can't run on multiple accounts at the same time. At least when I tried it, I couldn't have iTunes running on more than one account. Can someone verify this, or was I doing something wrong?
     
  7. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #7
    That is true.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    How can you make it so passwords are not needed when switching from account to account?
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    I always need a password when switching to/from non-admin accounts... anyway i can disable this?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    g30ffr3y

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    buffalo ny
    #10
    just set the passwords to nothing... meaning a blank field... it works for me...
     

Share This Page