Fast User Switching Doesn't Animate?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by jasonmahar, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. jasonmahar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    NB Canada
    #1
    Hi Everyone,
    Just installed panther and enabled the fast user switching and it doesn't animate between users?
    This sucks
    Please help
    Trying to show off panther 2 the windowz users here!

    Thanks
    Jason
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    what type of mac are you running it on? older? then the video card may not be able to support it....
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    What Mac do you have? If the video card doesn't fully support Quartz Extreme then I don't think it will work.

    edit: we both posted the same thing at the same time PlaceofDis :p
     
  4. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #4
    Fast user switching only animates if you use one screen and(or?) if your video card has enough RAM to do the animation smoothly with the resolution you're running.

    If you are using just one screen, try to reduce the screen resolution. If you're on an old Mac, it won't work no matter what.
     
  5. jasonmahar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    NB Canada
    #5
    What i'm running

    Hi Everyone ok this is what i'm running
    Powermac G4 400MHZ 256mb of ram

    should it work on this machine?

    Thanks for the fast responses

    J
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    It's not the RAM, it's the video card.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=152366

    If you don't see the cube effect when FUS, then 99.999999% likely your video card doesn't support Quartz Extreme.
     
  7. wangahrah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    #7
    I'm fairly certain (not positive) that if the users have different screen resolutions set, instead of seeing the turning cube eye candy, the screen will take that opportunity to switch resolutions, and you won't see the effects. Thats what seems to happen with one of the machines I use.

    wangahrah
     
  8. jasonmahar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    NB Canada
    #8
    OK need new video card grrrrrrrrr

    Ok It's the video card
    I have a rage 128 16mb of vram

    Thanks everyone :)

    J
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Ah yes, that's also a problem. At least, it used to be.
     
  10. superfunkomatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    calgary, ab canada
    #10
    i've got the same machine. it doesn't support quartz which means no cutesy user switching. not sure if there is a workaround with newer graphics cards.
     
  11. panphage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #11
    That's the stock card from the Cube too. It doesn't support Quartz Extreme but it supports normal Quartz just fine. The quartz extreme is set up to degrade very gracefully on older graphics cards, so if you get a card that supports extreme, then you'll automatically get the extreme effects, no setup needed.
     
  12. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #12
    That is correct. I had my user account set to 1600x1200 and my son had his at 1344x1008. No turning cube. Changed him to 1600x1200 and the eye candy came back :p
     
  13. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    Nifty stuff in Panther doesn't work on my G3 iMac either - too bad.
     
  14. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #14
    If you are switching to someone who has a process consuming CPU cycles, the animation might not activate. As well as differing screen resolutions and color depths, as well as a non-quartz video card.
     
  15. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #15
    If you dont get the cube, then chances are you may not want to try and show the Windows users the other eye candy in mac osx!

    "And here, we have an animatio- nevermind... moving on..."
     
  16. solaris macrumors 6502a

    solaris

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #16
    If you dont know if it animates or not, how could we help you? :confused:
     

Share This Page