faulty emac, HELP!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by martdaman, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. martdaman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #1
    hi people,

    I have a big problem i over clcoked my emac and i put the computer back together. plugged her into the wall pushed the power button it starts up light comes on at the front etc it makes the sound but nothing comes up onto the screen, its just black, Whats going on?

    Please can someone help?
     
  2. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Make sure the monitor cables are plugged in?
    Maybe... underclock it back?

    I don't konw... you might be screwed :(
     
  3. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #3
    As said above check all the connectors you may have forgotten to connect the VGA...

    If not underclock it back if you give more info on what eMac you have and how much you overclocked it by im sure you can get some help,

    SHadOW
     
  4. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #4
    Hey ok going to open her back up today, before i do can i ask where is the VGA Connector?

    Also this dont seem good but when i turn it on like i said it will sound like it boots up just with no screen but I dont think any of the usb connections are working.

    I clocked it from 700 (thats the model) to 950, I cant see what the problem is? If i cant see any lose connections then i will just solder jumpers to take it back to 700 and see if that helps.

    Any info and advice would be very grateful

    Thankyou
     
  5. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #5
    The VGA connector is on the left next to the optical but thats probably not the problem, more likely that you overclocked to 950mhz most people manage either 900mhz or 1ghz at most with a 700mhz model, and 950 is a weird setting and not reccomended, i would suggest you try 900mhz or 800mhz see if that gives you any joy,

    SHadOW
     
  6. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #6
    Hey!

    I am please to report back that i am typing this post to you on my now non faulty (ish) 900 emac, so what was the problem? well i opened her back up and got to the cpu and clocked to 900 and cleaned up the other resistors which i took out like made the gap between them so they arent shorting or anything. sorted put it all back together nicely.

    Turned the power on and wait a sec shes alive! GREAT! straight away go to the apple logo go to about this mac and there it is the new spec wicked.

    But i have been testing it out and have had a few crashes already :confused: and when it doing this is when the computer is quiet hot so trn it of by holding power button down. Then i turn her back on and it come to the screen with the logo then goes to a blank black screen then to a whit screen which leaves me with to things to do saying use commands, mac-reboot? or shut-down or something so i choose mac-reboot but it just come up as a stripy screen?? black and white line and all.

    So i say lets just leave it 5 10 minutes for it to cool down come back to it turn it on and it comes on normaly.

    Could it be getting to hot and just packing itself down?

    Any help will very much appreshated (sorry about spelling on that word).

    Thanks for all the help so far on getting me this far and all.
     
  7. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #7
    appreciated :cool:

    well it may be that emac is getting too hot?
     
  8. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #8
    Unfortunatly i think eMac 700mhz models run unstable when overclocked to 900mhz, if i were you i would bite the bullet and clock the marshmellow down to 800mhz giving you a modest speed bump but at least a stable computer,

    SHadOW
     
  9. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #9
    Saying the computer gets to hot isnt there any way of cooling her down adding a more powerful fan?
     
  10. Arcus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Location:
    of my hand will get me slapped.
    #10

    Not trying to troll or anything but Im just wondering why all this work for 100 to 200 mhz? Doesn't seem worth possibly destroying your computer for. Will 100 to 200 mhz make that much of a difference? Would you even notice it?
     
  11. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #11
    Well the min requiment for iLife 04 is something like 733 so thats why many people have done the mod, this is only me reading in other forums and well i say why not really, say you got to a shop and the bloke behing the counter says do you want 200(what ever it is) more will you turn it down, cause it really hasnt cost me anything, (yet :p )
     
  12. nsutt22 macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #12
    100 mhz jump is prly worth it for iLife but keeping it cooler there is nothing u could prly do exsept store it in a colder room... possible a walk in fridge :)

    What are the other overclockers doing? about coolness?
     
  13. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #13
    Well i have my computer next to my window and its cold outside now, i have the window open, and it hasnt crashed on me whilst running the computer under high cpu. So my computer can only be used at night times :D
     
  14. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #14
    Don't forget eMac's use mobile processor version's of the G4 chip like that of iBooks or mac mini's therefore they can withstand fairly high temperatures not sure what my 800mhz runs at but i have replaced the standard fan with a small 80mm fan and it runs fine and is on all day and night, dont forget though i have a standard rev.b eMac i have not overclocked to 800mhz this is what may be saving me from trouble,

    SHadOW
     
  15. dukkha macrumors newbie

    dukkha

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Faulty emac?

    If your emac(s) is faulty, just use vi instead. :p (kidding!)
     
  16. martdaman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    #16
    OK my computers cpu is going crazy this is what its like in percentage:

    10...4.....6......16.....25......48.....76....15......20

    and i have my cpu refresh every 0.5 seconds!

    Yes this is the cpu which has been clcoked from 700 to 900, could this be because its at 900 it must be but i really dont understand others with the same computer as me have given great feedback about overclocking the 1st gen emacs or whatever one i have.

    Also it will frezze so i restart my emac and it will get onto the white screen with the apple logo and then it will go black then go to a white screen saying DEFAULT CATCH CODE: 300 or something along them lines and is the firmware or something?????

    Should i see how it goes at 800?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page