Fax on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jamaur99, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. jamaur99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    I want to be able to fax on my mac pro. What are my options? I obviously don't have an internal modem. Here is my system info:
    Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeo
    2GB (2x1GB)
    2xATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB

    Thanks guys...Mike
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Apple makes a USB modem, or try an online service such as efax.
     
  3. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #3
    For receiving faxes, efax is free. You sign up, they assign you a number and they e-mail any faxes you receive. They charge if you want to be able to send faxes (don't know how much). I find I rarely need to fax something (can almost always use e-mail), so having receive-only capability works for me.
     
  4. fluidedge macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #4
    I honestly can't rememebr the last time i even saw a fax machine let alone used one. Who are you sending a fax to? 1996?
     
  5. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #5
    Is that you, Michael Scott?
     
  6. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #6
    Contrary to what you might think, there are still millions of fax machines in use today by just about as many businesses.......

    even though they are an ancient technology, and computers are virtually everywhere, there are still alot of folks who simply are too lazy or too resistant to change to switch to other ways of doing things.....
     
  7. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

    sigmadog

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    near Spokane, WA
    #7
    Yup. I still have clients that fax me proofs instead of marked up PDF's. It drives me up the wall, but they just don't like learning new technology, so I deal with it.
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Same here. Storyboard by fax, proofreading jobs by fax, little notes about schedules, meetings, order changes, etc. When I'm busy I get 5 or 6 faxes a week average. I can send/receive faxes in color or monochrome directly from my Mac or I can do it from the printer. About $300 will get you one of these:

    [​IMG]

    And it's a decent 8x10 photo printer too. As good as any 1-Hour photomatt for sure. :) Plus a copy machine and scanner too. :cool:
     
  9. The Mad Hatter macrumors 6502

    The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    Good choice Tesselator

    I have that same model in my office.

    ...but you forgot to mention, that it also prints on printable CD/DVDs (will a little modification.) ;)
     
  10. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #10

    I know somebody who has that model. Nice little unit. (Cue the "Is that what she said?" comments.)
     
  11. armoguy94 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #11
    Except for the fact that it's a huge consumer printer.
     
  12. gouvernor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #12
    Another Option

    I use www.faxzero.com for my fax purposes. You can send for free, but only a few pages. I pay less than two dollars for the premium service. I just use my scanner and make PDFs to attach, but you do have the option of .doc files or just adding text. I've never had the need to receive though. I do own an HP all in one, but I don't have a regular phone line to use it.

    Leo
     
  13. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    Oh yeah... But it doesn't need any modifications that I know of. Just insert the CD/DVD and print. I was using that feature quite a lot for awhile. I haven't in a long time tho.

    [​IMG]

    It's fun. :)
     
  14. The Mad Hatter macrumors 6502

    The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #14
    That's right, I forgot mods were only needed on the US version (since Epson supposedly has the monopoly on the US CD/DVD printing market.) :rolleyes:

    Such as life.

    Great unit though... but then again, I love all my Canon printers. :)
     
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    Really? Wow, that kinda sucks huh?!?! Figures tho... :(
     
  16. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #16
    We're not violating any DRMs, there, are we Tesselator? :D
     
  17. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #17
    DRM? DRum Machine? Hack no, wouldn't think of it. :)

    I'm always nice to my drum machine!
     

Share This Page