Faxing with Airport

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by lsorens, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. lsorens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    Arvada Colorado
    #1
    Is it possible to send and recieve faxes with airport? If so how do you set it up? I use a cable modem - do I need to hook up a phone line to airport too?
    I am using a G4 Powerbook with built in airport extreme. I have a graphite airport base station.
    Thanks for any input
     
  2. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #2
    My understanding is that you need to hook the phone cable up to your airport (meaning you'll need one with a modem). I have heard that there exists software that will allow you to fax over a broadband connection, but I have not run across it yet.
     
  3. m4rc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    faxaway.com is just one of the companies who offer email to fax. I use fax machines to send, but all my incoming faxes are recied in my email by using efax - but thats a UK company.

    If you want to use the OSX Fax software, you will need to have the airport base ststion with built in modem, and hook that up to a phone line.
     
  4. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Fax

    If you want to fax from your computer, you need to use the built-in modem connected to a phone line. If you want to use airport, the base station needs to have a built-in modem connected to a phone line.
    There are other ways, but this is the only way to fax DIRECTLY from your computer.
     
  5. waterbug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Re: Fax

    So how does one do this? If I have a ABS with a modem, will that show up in my list of modems on my Mac?
     

Share This Page