FC scratch disk question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by puckhead193, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    i started to edit a project but the scratch disk wasn't set to my external drive.... Right now all the render files, capture scratch are on my internal drive... if i were to move the final cut express document folder to my external drive, will project be all messed up? if after i move the folder I would have to go back into the setting and change the scratch disk right...?

    edit if it helps i'm using FCE 2 :eek:
     
  2. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Make a back-up folder of all your internal capture/render files etc, and put that on your external hard-drive.

    Then, select the copy on your external and work from that.

    Proceed to change your scratch disk to the external.

    Hope that helps.

    Rich.
     
  3. hsilver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Move Media

    In Final Cut Pro –don't know FCE –you could use Media Manager -select all
    your clips in browser window, go to Media Manager and select MOVE and they would move to designated location (Chosen under 'Browse' in Media Manager) and link up without any reconnecting to go though.
     
  4. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #4
    I do this in FCP all the time without a problem. Just take all the contents of your FCP scratch folder and put them in a folder of your external disk. Then in prefs change the location of the scratch disk. Should work the same in FCE.
     
  5. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    thanks as u can see its 2:20 AM so i gave up for the night, i'll give it ago tomorrow

    i wish i had gotten pro instead of express, but theirs no point in it now cause *i hope* apple release a new Final Cut studio soon along with new PMs :)
     

Share This Page