FCE loophole?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by fBaran, Mar 11, 2004.

  1. fBaran macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #1
    Hey all. I just gor Fine Cut Express, and realized that it need 384mb ram, while i only have 256mb. Is there any way to fool the computer? I don't really care about the speed, as i figured it's gonna be slow on a G4 iBook anyhow. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Have you tried installing it? Sometimes these things just work. It will be painfully slow, though. Otherwise, RAM isn't that expensive. Might be time for an upgrade--just $98 to get yourself to 640 Megs.
     
  3. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
  4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #4
    It's not actually particularly slow on a G4 iBook... granted it's not as "fast" as a dual G5 but... yeah... you'll be okay for normal video editing... just don't try to splice together a feature film on it with a million effects and you should be okay.
     
  5. PensDevil macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    no realtime

    I think it will install and run okay, although not all that speedy with 256MB. The real-time effects that FCE2 adopted (introduced in FCP3) do not kcik in until you have 384MB of RAM. As alsways with OS X... the more RAM the better.
     

Share This Page