FCP 64 bits?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by P-Worm, Jun 22, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #1
    Is it possible that FCP was secretly optimized for the 970s behind our backs. Sure it has AltiVec, but more speed never hurt anyone.

    I personaly can not afford a new machine. I'll probably get one in about 3 years. Meanwhile my Dual 1 Ghz Quicksilver is still chugging along.

    P-Worm
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    Hey thanks for the link Freg3000. That is pretty funny. I bet on Final Cut Pro being enabled and demoed tomorrow. Probably not, but it's ok to bet on hopes when it is not real money right?

    P-Worm
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I doubt it is fully 64 bit compliant now. However, I reckon that a small update will become available to make it possible to take advantage of the the 64bits. I bet some work has already been done on it.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    e-coli

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    #5
    That "small update" would be several gigs. They'd have to replace nearly all the program files with ones written in 64 bit code.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You dont think that some of the work may have already been done? I do.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #7
    That's what i am getting at. In fact, I think that nearly all of the work has been done. Tomorrow is going to be exciting on so many levels.

    P-Worm
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Rezet

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, United States of America
    #8
    Heh...

    I'll see what you all gonna say if there is no 970 introduced tomorrow nor anything that you consider "exciting".
    All these speculations are based on nothing.
    Like they say: "It's better hope for worst and get something good then hope for good and get something bad."
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #9
    Technically no. The user PPC instruction set is identical between 32 and 64 bits. Only doing things like loading a 64 bit pointer, or doing explicit 64 bit math are different. I doubt most of the OS needs to be "re-written" anyways. Only some parts of the kernel, device drivers, or anything that needs a wide open memory space would need to have any changes.

    The biggest gain would be a recompile, since the 970 scheduler is pretty whacky (5 slot group, 3rd is a branch or something like that) - but this is not necessary. 1.2 Jaguar should run perfectly fine with a few tweaks here and there for support of new devices (including the chipset).

    -Wyrm
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #10
    Re: Heh...

    Apple pretty much confirmed the rumors with their "slip" of the G5 specs. Beyond being a little more than expected, the rumors have been pretty accurate so far. Of course, only a few more hours to wait.

    -Wyrm
     

Share This Page