FCP Express - Exports Low Quality

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mystikal, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #1
    So Im working on a project for my dad and each time I export the video from FCP, the quality is horrible. The quality of the videos may not be that great due to youtube, etc. I hope someone can see the difference between the two.

    Here is a clip im using that is the original, unexported:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bXPYoB0Rr8


    Here is the exported one using default quicktime settings:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jww_aTR8kfg


    If you look at the outside of the letters you can tell they are very pixelated after being exported. How can I avoid / fix that? What quality settings should I be using? I know its possible the original videos arent the best quality, but that cant be changed.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
    #2
    If your final target is YouTube, try exporting using QuickTime to an MPEG4 file, "Current" size, "Current" frame rate, and a video bitrate like this:

    640x480 or 720x480 -- use 2000-2500kbps
    1280x720 -- use 3000-3500kbps
    1920x1080 -- use 3500-4000kbps

    The defaults are very pixelated and unusable. A good audio bitrate (AAC) should be around 128-256kbps.

    -Aaron-
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    Not aiming for youtube, just need to export to a computer so my dad can show other people what he works on. Ill still try those settings and see what I can come up with.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #4
    When I do an initial export and leave the fps at current, set the Data Rate to Automatic and use "Best Quality (Multi-pass)". Check out my iMovie Export Guide for more tips. It will apply to the FCE QuickTime export option.
     
  5. Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #5
    If you click file>export quicktime you can export a quicktime movie at the quality and current codec you are editing in. You have to tell us what settings you are using before we can determine anything but there is something wrong in the way you are exporting video or the codec that you chose to edit with.
     

Share This Page