FCP3 on G5?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hotwire132002, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #1
    I'm planning on using my Dual 2.5 G5 (When it comes in...) for video editing. I'm currently running FCP3 on my iMac. What I'm wondering is, can anyone tell me how much of a difference in speed/render time there is between FCP3 running on a G5 and FCP4/HD running on a G5? I'm hoping to wait to upgrade until I can afford it (I still can't afford the monitor yet :(), but if I have to upgrade sooner rather than later, I will. What are your thoughts?
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Based on my own transition from an 800MHz iMac to a dual 2 G5 (and, BTW, both congrats and "you bastard!" on getting the new king of the hill!), I'm guessing that you will see an enormous speed boost going to the G5 which will make FCP3 seem all new again. Certainly, anything else I do on either system is vastly faster on the G5. I'm not a FCP user, but this boost applies to all apps I use.

    I would play with FCP3 to make sure you need FCP4 (which, by all accounts I've read, is a worthwhile upgrade should you decide to buy it). I would certainly recommend buying a monitor first, as that will enhance either program. :)

    Again, congrats, and you'll be dizzy for days anyway out of sheer giddiness, so don't rush out to get FCP4!
     
  3. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #3
    Thanks for all your help. I was concerned that FCP3 would be loads slowed than FCP/HD, since HD is G5-optimized. But, by the sound of it, it should be fine. Thanks again!
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    FCP 4 on a G5 (and in general) can do things that FCP 3 can only dream of, but FCP 3 on a G5 will be worlds faster than on an iMac. Congrats on the new rig. :)


    Lethal
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Yes, I didn't mean to imply (if I did) that FCP4 isn't much better than FCP3, just that you might wish to wait to see if you need it.

    You'll probably get it eventually anyway (can't have some old last-gen app on your gleaming new supercomputer, right). But you almost undoubtedly will be happy with FCP3 for a while. Just don't try a FCP4 demo. Otherwise, you'll feel like you can't live without it. ;-)
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6

    I didn't think you did. But I wanted to toss in my 2 cents anyway. :D


    Lethal
     
  7. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #7
    I've already seen it at the Apple Store (Workshop), and man I want it! I just wanted to know if FCP3 would work decently until I can afford 4. (Still need that monitor...)
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    You're screwed. ;) Better start saving your pennies, because now you know you're going to get it. Wish I could have warned you earlier....
     
  9. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #9
    I knew I wanted it from the day it came out... The demo just makes me want it more ;).

    I really have to start saving...Here's what I want to get for my new G5:

    Apple LCD (When new models come out)--$599 (W/Edu discount...I hope :rolleyes: )
    FCP 4--$399 (Upgrade)
    Motion--$299
    DSP3--$199 (Upgrade)

    I am beyond screwed ;).
     
  10. furrina macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    In tha 212
    #10
    Which model are you talking about? The lo-end new 20" or the old 20", or the old 17"?
    No one has put up a guess as to how much the old ones will be going for (from apple) once the new ones come out.
     
  11. hotwire132002 thread starter macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #11
    That's what the current 17" costs with my educational discount (599).

    I hope that the new models will have one at the same price, but it looks doubtful :(. Any guesses on educational pricing for the $999 model?
     

Share This Page