Feasibility of the migration assistant?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by FortWorthMac, Apr 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #1
    Well finally decided it was time for a new iMac. I have a 5 year old 24inch and ordered a 27inch from Amazon.

    My question is the feasibility of the migration assistant. How well does it work? And I guess the fastest way to accomplish the migration. My old iMac does not have the Thunderport or whatever it's called.

    Thanks
    David
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    There are multiple ways to connect the systems. Also, if you have a current Time Machine backup, Migration Assistant should be able to copy from that as well.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    Both machines have GB ethernet, so I think that would be fastest. Just connect an ethernet cable directly between the two and run MA. It works quite well.

    Make sure you run MA as part of the setup process and not after you have created the account as that causes duplicate folders and all sorts of problems. You old account will be created on the new machine as part of MA.

    As Bear mentioned, if you have a Time Machine backup on an USB external, that can be used as the MA source also.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #4
    Question in regards to that. Back in my old Windows IT days one would have to use a "cross over" ethernet cable to hook up two machines together. Is that not the case here?
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    Macs as I recall do not need those corssover cables. Nor do most systems these days.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #6
    Gotcha, thanks.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Exactly. The ethernet port will sense it is a direct connection and handle it for you. No crossover cable needed.

    I still have an orange crossover cable sitting in a drawer I just can't bring myself to throw away though. :)
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #8
    Another vote here for Ethernet. I just used MA via Ethernet to migrate from my old Mac mini to my new iMac without a hitch. It took around 30 minutes to transfer all of my data, applications, and settings. Good luck, and enjoy your new iMac :D
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #9
    Thanks.

    I got a little confused reading the apple support page. So let me try and clarify since you just did it.

    I simply run the ethernet cable between BOTH iMacs.

    This line on the support page confused me: "o use Ethernet for migration, connect the two computers with a single Ethernet cable; you don't need to connect the computers to a hub, switch, or router. This may be faster than using a wireless connection. For the best experience, be sure to attach your source and target Macs to the wired network before you start."

    If the two macs are attached via an ethernet cable, how can they then be plugged in to a wired connection?
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #10
    They aren't. I agree, that is very poorly worded and confusing. You just connect the ethernet cable directly between the two machines.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #11
    Good and thanks. Glad it wasn't just me that was confused by it. I promise I haven't started drinking yet today. ;)
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #12
    Haha, it's all good. As stated, just connect the two machines via ethernet directly; you can also do it over a regular wired network, which is how I did it, but either way works fine :)
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #13
    You should... it will make the time pass more quickly while you wait for the migration to finish. :D
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #14
    Well the new one is coming "sometime" tomorrow via FedEx so it's going to be a loooonnnnnggggg day. But I'm sure they'll be plenty of some of Kentucky's finest enjoyed during the process.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #15
    And do I understand that the "best" way to do this is during the initial startup?
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #16
    Yes, definitely.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #17
    Gotcha, thanks.....

    So excited.......
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #18
    I think FedEx has it out for us. If I order say razor blade refills... BAM! 10:30 AM FedEx delivery. New Mac I desperately want.... 7:30 PM... every single time!! :mad:
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #19
    Yeah tell me about it.

    And the "estimated" delivery time tomorrow is "before 8pm". Come one really!!!??? #firstworldproblems
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #20
    Sometimes I swear FedEx and UPS rush delivery of unimportant items, but when it's something you want now it comes at the very end of the day or they "forget" to drop it off and it comes the next day.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #21
    Damn that was seamless!
     
  22. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #22
    Glad it worked out. Enjoy the new Mac.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #23
    Yup, thanks.

    But gotta say, and granted its only the i5, it doesn't seen as fast as I thought it would moving from a 5 year old Mac.
     
  24. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #24
    Last couple upgrades for me felt sort of like "incremental" upgrades also. The really big and noticeable change in perceived speed came with the SSD for me.
     

Share This Page