Feature you think need to be added to FCP X

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Chrisg2014, May 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I don't know if this is already a topic but What stuff do you think needs to be brought back?
    • Fix color correction!
    • bring back the preview window

    I don't know that's all I can think of...
     
  2. hsilver, May 1, 2012
    Last edited: May 1, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Apple has promised to restore the option of 2 window editing sometime this year as well as RED and MXF support and multi-track audio editing.



    Here's a list –not all my own –that covers most everything I am missing.

    • Clips must hold the last In/Out points set. Favorite Clip is not quick enough.

    • The ability to favorite I/O on Projects not just clips.

    • Fix using cmd-b to blade more than one clip at a time.

    • Selective keyboard marking of In/Out on secondary clips as well as the Primary Storyline

    • Keyboard marking of In/Out works over all tracks to be able to cut out multiple tracks as sections

    • Keyframes in Color Correction.

    • Snap to Keyframes on tracks other than Primary Storyline option so you can line up keyframes

    • Chapter and Compression markers

    • Undo History Tool

    • Selective Paste Attributes for effects and keyframes

    • Remove Attributes –all or selectively of effects on multiple clips

    • Out of sync indicators

    • Timecode overlay option

    • Match frame indicator and removal tool

    • Duplicate frames indicator

    • Ability to apply an audio dissolve separately from video dissolve

    • Motion Tracking

    • Matte Drawing Tool with bezier and spline

    • Background Noise Removal from SoundTrack Pro –make noise print, adjust threshold
     
  3. diamond3, May 1, 2012
    Last edited: May 2, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #3
    I wouldn't mind seeing the option to arrange the different panels in my own way across multiple monitors and not a standard way.

    edit: Another feature that would be nice is to incorporate the use of the trackpad more with multitouch gestures. The big one being the ability to zoom in and out in the timeline using the pinch/pull apart method. It would be great to be able to place the skimmer where ever and quickly zoom in one motion to the transition for example, check it out or adjust it and then zoom right back out.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    If you want new features to be added, hit the feedback button inside the app. Apple doesn't read fora, but they read feedbacks.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #5
    a checkbox for anamorphic footage
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #6
    I was teaching FCPX last night and currently my only beef is to not have the Project Timeline to move right while trimming in point of first clip at zero.
    It freaks the students out.
    I have to show them to use "shift+z" right away so they panic :)
    I guess I can ask for a storyboard option where you can have a special bin (yep I said it) that will let you layout the clips in icon view (of course) in anyway you want to see them.
    The above long list is probably doable.
    But I love favorites and keywords.
    Forces you to organize and manage clips/resources.
    Makes you more aware of what you have in your Event for said project :)
     
  7. diamond3, May 7, 2012
    Last edited: May 7, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #7
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I saw the same video and completely intrigued. To date, I've been using a logitech trackball which I find works great for scrolling through footage and it has a few customizable buttons, but I've been looking at the contour design shuttle v2 as well.

    but to the original post, I still can't understand why chapter markers aren't included to export when choosing to export media. I do this to keep backup files and i find the extra step to include them in Compressor is, well, an extra step.
     
  9. macrumors demi-god

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #9
    Can you expand on this? I know it doesn't have very advanced color correction but I'm not sure what you mean by it needs to be fixed

    Unless that is precisely what you mean, that it needs more features like from Color or DaVinci Resolve, etc built in.
     
  10. WRP
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Have a preference setting to turn it back into FCP7. :D
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #11
    From the free download version, I noticed right away that export "share" options were really limited unless the user also has Compressor.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #12
    What I'd like to see most is a classic edit mode (FCP 8, if you will), with numbered A/V tracks and a Viewer/Canvas. Wishful thinking, I'm sure...

    I think what he might mean is that they need to replace that atrocious color board with proper color wheels and curves. As it currently stands, you need third-party plugins to get that in FCP X.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    #13
    FCPX would be perfect for me if it had this. I love the new features, and the new layout (Having a separate Viewer/Canvas i'm not too bothered about, though it's apparently coming back in the next version), but i hate the timeline itself. I just want layers and separate tracks back, and the ability to move stuff across the timeline without actually having to use a 'Position' tool to do it.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #14
    I would make the jump right away if they brought back a proper timeline. My industry dictates wanting things delivered in a certain way (e.g. sound mixers needing OMF exports for their ProTools workstations). Having to jump through hoops with 3rd party apps just to do that is annoying.

    Ideally, Apple would make "classic timeline" a toggle option. So those who want it get it, and those who don't (presumably those who transitioned from iMovie) can still have their trackless Magnetic Timeline. Win-win for everyone.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    #15
    Custom resolution export. That's very important, I can't make anamorphic videos. And bug fix. Mine has a lot of bugs.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #16
    This. Plus the option to toggle the "Magnetic" attributes to a classic based timeline. The best of both worlds.
     
  17. CaptainChunk, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #17
    Yeah, I suppose that would be cool too, but the whole point of a numbered A/V timeline is to have total control over where layers of audio and video go. The Magnetic Timeline dynamically chooses what "tracks" to put these clips on to avoid edit overwrites and media collisions.

    While I think this is a great concept for those are prone to muck up their timelines when moving a range of clips around, experienced editors generally have a very good reason for certain clips to be in specific places (e.g. a post audio mixer may want dialog on tracks 1-8). For this reason, Magnetic Timeline seems like it would have limited use in traditional timelines with numbered tracks, unless I'm mistaken.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #18
    You are absolutely right. However, Roles make numbered track pretty much obsolete. IMHO, Roles in connection with FCP's database are more advantageous to tracks.
    I've been using FCP since version 3, but I don't miss the old way of doing things at all. My job got much easier with X.
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #19
    But it doesn't seem that Roles is capable of outputting tracks of audio with their individual clips intact, including user-defined handles, pan and level values, etc., a la OMF/AAF. Unless I'm missing something, it looks like it simply spits out AIFF mix downs.

    With the right functionality tweaks to address this, Roles could be a great thing.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #20
    Most cases you can output them and bring into ProTools (in the future) then add all the fixings ala Resolve round-trip. Thats the feature Im hoping for ;)
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #21
    Not right now (without workarounds), but Apple has mentioned that they'll bring improved audio tools with the next update.
     
  22. WRP
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #22
    And this is another reason FCP X is a joke. How long until it incorporates ALL the functionality that a product they made 4 years ago had? Or that Avid had a loong time ago? Or even Premiere? Apple made a fisher-price POS and it's funny how you all just bend over and enjoy it.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #23
    Well, as long as I save a lot of time and effort on my jobs, I enjoy working with this POS.

    To each his own.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #24
    http://www.x2pro.net/
     
  25. WRP
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    You know how I know you haven't been editing professionally for very long?
     

Share This Page