Fed Up With Handbrake Low Volume, Alternative?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by wrkactjob, May 11, 2011.

  1. macrumors 65816

    wrkactjob

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    OK its been mentioned before, I love the video quality and simplicity of use of Handbrake but where has the volume gone?!

    I'm ripping my Soprano videos to my iPad for my daily commute on the train and even with the volume to the max its a stuggle to hear with my BT headphones on, sitting at my desk at work this morning I am relying on the volume from the iPad itself without using a headset and its just waaaaay too low. It's really not good enough.

    So what decent alternative is there out there, (happy to pay for a commercial piece of software) where you can increase the volume during the conversion process?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Try setting the DRC to 2.0 in the audio settings.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #3
    That doesnt really fix the volume issue thou it just raises the level of the quiet areas. They need to get some type of normalization goin on, this has been an issue forever.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #4
    Its already in libhb as well as the Linux Gui. As soon as I rework some other things in the audio tab it will be in the Mac Gui.

    https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/3902
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    The issue with low audio from DTS source to Encoded track was also fixed a few months back.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #6
    You work on handbrake? Your awesome! I love your software :)
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Gain control now implemented as of
    https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/4000 in the HandBrake MacGui ...

    From my tests a gain setting of +15db is about as high as you'd want to go, it will break up on super loud segments. my guess is for normal use probably a range of +5 to +10 will be more than enough.

    And yes, its about time.

    Should be available on the next nightly.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #8
    Glad you like HB. No, its not mine.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #9
    it is still very low volume on the appletv
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #10
    Um,did you actually download a new nightly of handbrake that has the gain control implemented? I can boost aac volume so high that it distorts.

    Realize of course it does *nothing* to the ac3 passthru track as its just what it says ... passed thru.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #11
    I've been using the latest SVN builds to apply a small (+3dB) gain to my downmixed AAC tracks and can definitely tell a difference.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #12
    Sorry to bring an old thread back to life.

    I'm using handbrake to rip some of my DVDs so I can watch them through my 2nd generation AppleTV. When doing so I noticed that the volume levels were fine when watched through iTunes on my Mac, but very, very low when streamed through Apple TV.

    I switched to the Handbrake nightly build and ripped the same DVD with and without added gain (+10).

    What I've found is that the added gain does make a difference when playing the movie in iTunes (but like I said it was fine on my mac anyway), but for some reason when streaming to my TV through AppleTV, it doesn't seem to have made any difference at all.

    I'm not sure why this is and I'm wondering if it's AppleTV and not how Handbrake processes the file (not that I'm any expert on video encoding).

    Anyone else witnessed the same result with AppleTV (2nd gen) found a way to get acceptable sound levels?

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #13
    What is your output HDMI or optical? What is your setup? I think the boost/gain level is only in the AAC file not the original 5.1 Dolby digital.

    Give use a more detailed description of your setup and maybe we can help.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #14
    Thanks for responding.

    I connect AppleTV to my set using a HDMI cable, and I'm using a wireless network (not that it should make a difference). I encode using the AppleTV preset in Handbrake.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    #15
    Have you tried selecting the files in iTunes and then "get info"? You can increase the volume output there. When iTunes imports it puts the file volume right in the middle. If you push it up higher here it will be higher when it plays at the same volume setting on the TV or amp. You can select all of your movie files at once and do get info and change them all.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #16
    Correct, Gain is only applied to encoded audio tracks. Since the AC3 track from a dvd is pass thru, its gets ... passed thru, unmodified.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #17
    I think I tried that, but I'll look at it again as I'm not 100% sure.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Burgess07

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Watertown, WI
    #18
    I do this AND I also go into the Equalizer window and add volume there.

    I select "Vocal Booster" from the drop down menu.
    Adjust the preamp slider to raise the volume.
    Save the preset as "video watching" or something like that.

    Screen Shot 2012-01-04 at 11.11.35 AM.png
     

Share This Page