File Vault says I need another 4080 GB of space...?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BiikeMike, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. BiikeMike macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    I went to try and turn on File vault on my computer, and it says

    According to "get info" on my Hard drive, I've got 92.84 total gigs, and 20.2 gigs free.

    What gives?
     
  2. c-Row macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Guess you are in for a veeeery large external FireWire drive... :p

    Seriously, this sounds like File Vault went all balloney.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Wild... both my iBook and my iMac do the same thing. My iMac wants 4040 GB and my iBook wants 4085 GB.

    That's so strange. Is this a 10.4.8 bug? Both of my computers are up-to-date except for the latest security update (neither of them have it yet).

    Actually, neither of my Macs have as much free available space as the home directory occupies (my iMac home directory is 73 gigs and I have 59 free; my iBook is 17 home and 13 free). But I wouldn't think it would require you to have enough space to duplicate every single file into the disk image before deleting the originals, would it?

    Or is this related to my account privilege level (my accounts are both managed users)?
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    I just tried it on my MBP and the same thing happened. Looks like a bug to me!
     
  5. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #5
    Works for me...but I stopped it before it finished. Might leave it on actually, but whats the point...
     
  6. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #6
    It can't be a 10.4.8 bug, i'm running 10.4.7!

    Oh Apple.......... Where ARE YOU???

    and the point is to have encrypted files. apperently its a pretty good way to protect your stuff. A lot of people can pick up my computer, and I don't want them to be able to get to ALL of my stuff.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    You can certainly take your sensitive files and just throw them in an encrypted DMG. In some ways, that's safer, as the user account remains something you can boot into in any event. But if you want your Mail.app e-mail or your chat transcripts encrypted, for instance, mostly you need FileVault. :eek:
     
  8. AppleGuy08 macrumors 6502

    AppleGuy08

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #8
    wow, same thing happens for me. hope they fix it soon!
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    I get almost the complete opposite.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    Yes it would, as far as I remember, you need to have (just a bit) more free space than your home folder occupies, because FileVault wants to copy everything whenever you want to turn it on or off.

    One of the things you want to move out of your home folder before turning on FileVault anyway (bacaus it's no need to encrypt, anyway) is all your iTunes music. That is usually enough, but if it isn|t you should (at least temporarily) move out any movieas and/or your iPhoto library).

    (I'm not at home at the moment, so I cannot easily find links over at Apple Support on how to best move iTunes and iPhoto, but maybe someone else can provide those... :))
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Nermal, you need to delete some of that porn. :D

    Mitthrawnuruodo, thanks... that does make sense. I guess you could put your Music and Photo libraries in /users/shared perhaps? That would massively reduce the size of the home drive. And it isn't too hard to do.
     
  12. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #12

    OK, so how do yu make said DMG? and does it have to reside on the desktop?
     
  13. EM87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    How do you turn it on? I want to see if I have the same problem on my almost brand new iMac which has around 150Gb or free space.
     
  14. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #14
    I got the same thing. I know I don't have enough free space to turn it on, but I don't think I should need another 4000 GB's :D

    Picture 1.png
     
  15. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #15
    Probably need at least a FW800 external drive. ;)

    Agree. Something with File Vault is definitely not working correctly.
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    - Disk Utility (in the utilities folder)
    - Click on New Image in the upper left
    - From the format pulldown, select sparse image; from the encryption pulldown, select AES-128
    - Select the size pulldown and choose custom and enter your size -- you can make it big; a sparse image means that it will grow as you add files to it (so an empty 30GB sparse image is pretty small... like a few megabytes).
    - Save the image file anywhere you want where you have write access -- perhaps your documents folder or /users/shared.

    Whenever you open it with any user account, you get a prompt for a password. After that, it appears in finder like an extra hard disk, just like any other image, and you can copy files in and out of it while it's mounted. You can eject it by dragging it to the trash or clicking and selecting eject from the menus. While it's ejected, files in it will not be accessible without the password.

    System Preferences -> Security -> Turn on Filevault. ;)
     
  17. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #17
    Is FV actually slowing down the system a lot or can you hardly notice it? I imagine the faster the HD the less you can feel it, right?

    Where do you put your music folder if you move it out of your home folder?
     
  18. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #18
    I think, if you're using a single hard disk, the /users/shared/ directory is the "correct" answer. At least in the sense that this is what it's there for.
     
  19. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #19
    What if you want iTunes to keep the folder organized? Could you just put a shortcut to the folder in your homefolder? Would iTunes recognize it correctly and use the new destination folder?
     
  20. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #20
    One additional point: be sure to uncheck the "Remember password in keychain" (or something like that), otherwise it'll no ask you for a password when you open it, which is convenient for you but also for anyone who breaks into your account.
    Go to iTunes->Preferences...->Advanced->General.
    Click the "Change..." button, and pick the folder you've moved elsewhere.

    Works like a charm. I actually use a mounted drive on one of my other Macs. You can also share the same library across user accounts on a single mac this way.
    DO NOT USE FILEVAULT! Or, if you do, back up religiously. If you encrypt your entire home folder, and the wrong byte gets corrupted, you lose everything. FileVault makes your whole folder one giant file.
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    Good point re: keychain.

    I tried the iTunes move, yes, it was very simple for me. Out of curiosity, when my home directory on my laptop plummeted in size because I'd moved the music and movies folders, I tried Filevault again, and it was willing to Filevault. So the bug appears limited to calculating necessary space when there is insufficient space only.

    Of course, I clicked cancel. I'm happy without Filevault. :)
     
  22. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #22
    Thanks for the tip.
    I guess I'll live without it then :D

    So I could basically put my iTunes library on a networked HD on my airport network and point iTunes there?
    Then all Macs could use the same iTunes library, just have to see whether the 54Mbps are actually enough for multiple songs playing.
     
  23. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #23
    I don't think bandwidth will be a limiting factor, but I'm not sure you wouldn't end up in a permissions debacle. You would at least need to be very careful about that. Not to mention that I do not think it is permissible for multiple copies of iTunes to be interacting with the same copy of the iTunes Library file (the music files are fine, but I think the library file can be corrupted this way).
     
  24. BiikeMike thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #24

    But you could just create a seperate iTunes file on each computer that uses the files from the external drive. That is what I have done.



    And on filevault, is it really that bad of an idea? How does it make things into one file?
     
  25. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #25
    That'd be a possibilty. But my problem is that with this you would end up with different playcounts, playlists, and other things on each machine as this data is stored in the library and not the file.

    If Apple would sync this data between machines via .mac I wouldn't even consider using only one library file.
     

Share This Page