Final Cut beginner question...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jayeskreezy, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #1
    When I'm trying to playback a clip in the sequence viewer how do I get rid of the blue Unrendered screen without having to actually render it? Can I do that? I tried changing the options on the RT (real time) dropdown menu and reading the manual, but I sstill dont know how to make it go away. I like to watch my video as I edit it without actually having to render the whole thing.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #2
    You will have to render unless you have a very fast computer. My comp (see below) still needs to render with some effects, although if the effect is not huge than playback can still occur.

    Rendering sucks no doubt but its just something that has to be done. :(
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #3
    dang...that sucks...oh well...thank you for ur help
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    well, its not just a matter if you have a fast computer or not. If you apply filters or effects to the track you'll have to render it. And I've used some non standard resolutions for web exporting and you have to do it all the time - even if I've rendered the animation I'm working on at the same resolution.

    D
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    If you have your capture settings exactly the same as your sequence settings, then you won't have to render to view, but any deviation from DV will need to be rendered first. If you're importing QT or other clips it'll need rendering.

    Basically FCP moves everything into DV mode (or DVCHD, DVpro etc.) depending on your input device, and if the sequence is set deifferently it'll need to be rendered.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #6
    i'm pretty sure that you can press option (or control?) p and play back unrendered footage with its effects and such, however it won't be full speed of course... not on my home computer so i can't test it, but i believe that may work. not sure if that's helpful to you or not, but worth a shot
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #7
    oh ok...that might be it then...im importing ripped dvd footage...thanks
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #8
    you know I just tried this and it worked for playback, but I cant hear any sound on the clip...just the video...is there a way to hear the sound with it without rendering it?
     
  9. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #9
    i'm not sure... that might be trickier just cause it'd be slowed audio... ie, less than your 29.97 (or whatever frame rate) the actual project is. i guess try looking around for preferences regarding the audio playback if hearing the slowed audio with slow video is acceptable to you...
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    Again it depends on the settings, if the clip audio is that same as the sequence audio you'll not need to render, however, audio rendering takes a fraction of the time video rendering takes, I usually just suck it down and let the machine convert it.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #11
    ripped dvd clips eh?

    hmm.. i dunno if this would work or not, or whether you'd have the time to do it (it could be time intensive and not worth the effort) but you might wanna try maybe exporting your clips as quicktime with options set at None for compression and best for everything else.. then using that footage instead of your original rips.

    like i said, i dunno if that'll solve your problem. maybe do a test clip and see. *shrugs*
     

Share This Page