Final Cut Express and Final Cut Pro Compatible?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by dizastor, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. dizastor macrumors 6502a

    dizastor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I just sold my powerbook and am thinking about getting a macbook, problem is the macbook won't run FCP but it will run FCE.

    My question is, will my older FCP4 files be able to open in FCE and when the time comes for me to get a mac pro and FCP will the FCE projects open in FCP?

    I'm assuming that once opened in FCP5 the files would no longer work in FCE if they are in fact compatible.

    I would just eliminate the problem and get a 15" MBP, but I want the smaller size of the 13" macbook. I'm thinking I may just have to bite the bullet and get a MBP. grr.

    I wish there was a smaller MBP.

    In case this has been answered before I did search the forums, and found nothing related to this specific topic.
     
  2. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #2
    I'm not sure whether FCP is compatible with FCE, but I seem to recall hearing that the MacBooks will run Final Cut Pro itself -- they just won't run some of the other Final Cut Studio apps (like Motion). I don't believe Apple will support this approach, though.

    Someone please correct me if I'm wrong on this one.

    On a completely unrelated side note...
    This is my 1000th post! :D

    ... don't I get a cake or something? ;)
     
  3. dizastor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dizastor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I was only going by Apple's Final Cut Studio page
    Final Cut Studio Specs

    Middle of the page under the header General System Requirements

    I assume it's one of those things that performs a system check at install and runtime.
     
  4. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #4
    I realize that Apple doesn't actually support it, but that doesn't necessarily mean it doesn't run.

    I did a quick Google search, and as far as I can find, FCP will indeed install and run. The question is how well -- I didn't see a quick answer on that one, though I only spent about five minutes researching the issue.
     
  5. dizastor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dizastor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I just performed a Google search of the forum (which by the way works 100x better than the real search) and found my answer. Awesome, no fiddling with FCE. Thank god.

    Thanks hotwire132002

    I was assuming it was one of those things where apple made it so that the software couldn't be installed on certain hardware. I think I recall something not being able to run on a G3 yet people hacked the app to not check for processor and it worked fine. I didn't want that hassle though.
     
  6. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #6
    Not a problem -- glad I could help you out. :)
     
  7. ollie.pierce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #7
    Final Cut express compatabilty with macbook

    Hi was just wondering if one of you could help me i was just wondering if anyone knows if final cut express in compatable with a macbook???

    would be of great help to me

    ollie
     
  8. hotwire132002 macrumors 65816

    hotwire132002

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Cadillac, MI
    #8
    Yep - Final Cut Express will work just fine on a MacBook. Hope that helps! :)
     

Share This Page