Final Cut Express Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by carbonmotion, Jan 29, 2004.

1. carbonmotion macrumors 6502a

Jan 28, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    Hi guys,
    I am currently in a middle of this indie film and I need some FCE help. Ok before going further, I'm assuming you, the reader, understands alot about digital editing... if not then well, i dont want to waste your time... Ok, here's the deal. I want to make my DV footage look more like Film color wise... Any advice on how to go about doing that?
  2. mobility3 macrumors member

Oct 30, 2003
    age old debate...

I'm not a pro mind you but I've worked w/Final Cut for a few years...

two things I've found to reduce the "video look"
    - de-interlace
    - Stop Motion Blur, set the Time Lapse to 1 and the Steps to 2 leave the rest default (this is in FCP and I think FCE)

to get a "film look" you can also try some "film look" filters but in reality it's basically impossible to get close to film with standard DV (in my humble opinion). DVC Pro50 cams and that snazzy Panasonic 24P cam are getting there.

take this for what its worth. better to check the pro video message boards out there.
  3. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

Laslo Panaflex

May 1, 2003
    Get the joes filters, specifically the ones that change frame rate from 30fps to 24fps and the film grain one. These added with deinterlace will make it look more like film.

IMHO, I would just leave it alone, it is really easy to tell if something is shot on film or shot on DV and made to look like film. You can't get the same depth of field and DV cameras focus differently then film cameras. It will be impossible to get the DV footage to look like film. DV and film are totally different formats, so don't be ashamed to show a project in DV, especially if that's all your budgeted for. I don't know that's just me, good luck with your project though.
  4. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

Sep 18, 2003
    London, UK