Final Cut Express - Input Time Limits?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Hoven, Aug 19, 2003.

  1. Hoven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH (USA)
    #1
    Hi all,

    I just bought a new eMac and Final Cut Express. I also bought a Canopus ADVC-100 analog-to-digital converter.

    Now, I admit I haven't played with FCE much yet, but it looks like the only way to capture video through this device is with the "Capture Now" button since FCE can't control the digital device (right?).

    My problem is, when I start the capture, it says "30 minutes max". I'm trying to read in a 2 hour 8mm tape from my Sony camcorder (thru the Canopus). Is this true that I can only do 30 minutes at a time? I'd like to be able to turn on the capture and the camcorder and walk away for 2 hours. Is this possible?

    Many Thanks!
    ===[ Hoven ]===

    ps. I just joined... my first post... I hope to gain and give much in this forum in the future.
     
  2. rundevilrun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    #2
    Open preferences, go to the scratch disk tab, uncheck the box next to "limit capture to..."
     
  3. Hoven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH (USA)
    #3
    Doh!
    Thanks rundevilrun... I feel a bit foolish having missed that (although there's so much to learn and I haven't yet opened every menu and poked at every option).

    There's a ton of stuff to learn to put together. Now I'm trying to figure out why the image I captured via the Canopus looks pixelated (sp?) and if the 'recapture' stuff has anything to do with it (I can't 'recapture' from a video stream like this though, I didn't think).

    Ah well... time to stop playing and rushing things and sit down and really read all the way through the manual.

    Thanks again!
    ===[ Hoven ]===
     
  4. rundevilrun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    #4
    No problem. I recommend you watch the Getting started DVD that comes with FCX. It's got some neat stuff in there that I didn't even know FCX could do.
     
  5. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #5
    Poking around and seeing what you discover is half the fun of new software, though! By the way, welcome to the boards!
     
  6. Hoven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Columbus, OH (USA)
    #6
    Thanks. I stuck the DigitalFilmTree DVD in and panicked when it asked me for a region or something and warned me that I could only change it a few times.... so I ejected since I wasn't sure what it was talking about. I guess I'll figure that our too and then watch the movie.

    Right now, I'm on page 53 or 750 in the pdf User's Manual. Gonna go thru every page :eek: Although I'm already way exited to get started just based on the overview I'm reading.

    Back to the manual...

    And thanks for the 'welcome' Powerbook G5.
     
  7. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Interesting though - FCX limits it to 30mins by default but FCP limits it to 60 by default.

    Just somthing I noted from observation (and capturing 1hr and 24secs of video :D)
     

Share This Page