Final Cut Express Movie in a Frame Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rendezvouscp, Mar 14, 2005.

1. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

Yes, maybe I'm ridiculous in asking this since I'm a totally newbie to FCE, but I've got the first version, and I'd like to do this:

I've got a clip to make that makes it look like you're watching T.V. So I've got the clip I want to show in the T.V., and the actual T.V. outside. So, I want to put a clip into the T.V., and keep the T.V. outside that same.

I don't know how else to explain this, and I'm sure what I want is not that complicated, but I have no clue how to do it. If anyone could help, it'd be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.
    -Chase

2. qpawn macrumors member

Distort Tool Might Work

I've never used FCE, but this method could be the same as in Final Cut Pro...

-Put the clip with the real TV in it on video layer 1.
    -Put the footage you want to make look like it's on the TV on layer 2.
    -Click on the footage on layer 2.

We're going to drag each corner of this footage, to each corner of the television set:

-Click on the canvas window
    -From the top menu bar select View->Image+Wireframe
    -Hit 'd' on the keyboard or select the 'Distort' tool from the toolbar next to the Crop tool.
    -With the distort tool active, move the cursor to the corner of the footage until the cursor changes into a distort tool thingy.
    -Drag each corner of the footage to each corner of the television set.

If this isn't what you're looking for, yell at me and call me an idiot. :p

3. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

fartheststar

As the previous poster says - you need to use at least two layers of video.
    Video layer 1 is the TV it'sself , Layer 2 is "the program on the TV" (inlay)

Additional Tips: