Final Cut Pro 3 Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by agreenster, Jan 26, 2004.

1. agreenster macrumors 68000

agreenster

I've imported a series of frames (tiffs) with an alpha channel and want to export a quicktime movie. Is it possible to keep the alpha channel, and if so, how do I do this??? Im new to FCP, obviously.

TIA

agreenster

2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I've upgraded to 4 - but it should be simillar - select the alpha type under the modify menu and see what happens :D

D

3. agreenster thread starter macrumors 68000

agreenster

I see that menu, but I guess I dont know what it means. I know it sounds confusing, but here's what I am doing:

Ive animated a character to comp over a DV movie. I have two passes, a hero pass (the character) and a shadow pass. Problem is, they look too clean for the plate. (no compression) So, I want to import the animation frames, (which Ive done) export them as a quicktime movie with DV compression and an alpha channel, then import that QT movie back in and comp it over the plate.

EDIT

The reason I dont want to just comp them in and just export a DV QT movie is because then I will be compressing the BG twice, once on original taping and once on the export. I'd like to compress the character (hero) pass and import, and then do no compression on the second export.

4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

If I understand what you are wanting to do, export you animation from FCP 3 as DV so it won't look as "clean" and then re-import it back into FCP 3 for compositing, then I think the answer is "no." I don't work w/alpha channels very much so I could be wrong, but AFAIK video is "flat", it has no layers. What you could do is place your animation on a pure white, black, or green background. Then when you re-import the footage you would just have to key out the white/black/green background.