Final Cut Pro 4 Jan 2003

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by peter2002, Nov 23, 2002.

  1. peter2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    Spymac reports a major overhaul for FCP with new features and runs on OS X only. To be displayed at MWSF.

    http://www.spymac.com

    Makes sense to update if Apple debuts new PowerMacs with a new processor. FCP would have to be juiced-up to be optimized for the new processor.

    Peter :D
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    I'm hoping for full RT in every filter/generator. A tall order, I know, but Premiere has raised the bar there.

    And yeah, it will probably require some beefy hardware, but as long as my new Gigabook runs it, I'll be happy. :D
     
  3. crassusad44 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #3
    FCP already support RT on all effects and filters, but there is a limitation built into the application, that only makes some effects RT, based on your computer specs. There is a hack to this behavior, but I do not remember the link. The hack enables all effects and filters to be RT. You can see as many effects you want in RT, until the prosessor chockes, and you get dropped frames, and is forced to render. I've heard of people sucessfully getting RT content even on an iMac DV 400...
     
  4. jrv3034 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #5
    FCP on an iBook?

    Has anyone tried Final Cut Pro on an iBook? I'm wondering if one of the new 800mh will run it ok... I'm sure rendering times would take quite a while, but other than that, would it function properly, or crash the system completely?

    I can't wait to see what's on FCP 4. They have been expanding that program by leaps and bounds the last few years, and hopefully will continue to do so!
     
  5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6

    Yer a bit off base. There used to be a hack (but it was disabled by the 0.2 update) that would allow you to trick FCP into thinking yer computer as faster than it actually was, thus letting you use RT FXs you normally wouldn't be able to. But not all FX in FCP are RT capable<sp?>.

    Personally, I want a better media manager, and titleing tool. More RT stuff would be nice, but it's not on the top of my list.

    Lethal
     
  6. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #7
    Re: FCP on an iBook?

    Fcp will run fine on an iBook. You don't want to do a whole film on wone, the render times would be horrible.

    I run FCP 3 on my G3 Pismo Powerbook and I have never had a real problem. The key here is to do small load batch captures and minimal cuts. The pismo is excellent as a portable rig, allowing good capture capacity with Offline RT and the ability to do quickcuts and little effects on the not so great quality video. This is usefull to show clients where you are going without having to get the final product rendered several times. Leaves lots of room for correction.

    Once you have what you want, do an EDL export and move to a G4 tower with a lot of drive space and recapture.:D
     
  7. crassusad44 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #8
    You're right. Not all FXs would be RT, but many of them would. I also belive the developer of the modified scripts made it work on 3.0.2 as well, until the scripts was removed by Apple Legal :mad: :mad: :mad:

    http://homepage.mac.com/a_holck/
     
  8. kiwifilm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    #9
    Any news on getting rid of "Preparing Video for Display"???
     
  9. ShaolinMiddleFinger macrumors 6502a

    ShaolinMiddleFinger

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    #10
    Re: FCP on an iBook?

    It runs fine on my 500Mhz iBook....you just have to max out the ram and get an 7200rpm external firewire drive.


     
  10. BenderBot1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    #11
    WOW!!!

    This is why I come to MacRumors as a real knowledge source for both existing and upcoming Apple Computer Inc. related information.

    I got no fewer than just a few useful tips, tricks, and tidbits from the very knowledgable MacRumors Community within this single Post!!!! Using information found here to mine (search for) further information, I'm finding even more great stuff :p

    Thank You All and wow!:D

    :cool:
     
  11. elohim01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    #12
    How hard do you guys find it to run FCP on a 12.1-inch screen?
     
  12. HasanDaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    elohim,

    once you get used to the screen size, its actually not that bad

    honestly though, if you're doing major editing, the PowerBook is A LOT better for editing, but the iBook will get the job done............
     

Share This Page